Towns County High School
Hiawassee, GA
PublicHigh · Grades 9–12
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
74.3 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 63.1 | 80.2 | 74.3 |
| Content mastery | 66.6 | 83.2 | 77.2 |
| Progress | 51 | 63.1 | 79.4 |
| Closing gaps | 12.5 | 100 | 16.7 |
| Readiness | 83.1 | 81.3 | 76.6 |
| Graduation rate component | 93.5 | 94.1 | 94.7 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 14.7% | 7.1% | 17.4% |
| Developing | 48% | 34.3% | 34.8% |
| Proficient | 30.7% | 47.1% | 40.6% |
| Distinguished | 6.7% | 11.4% | 7.3% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 26.3% | 8.5% | 10.7% |
| Developing | 30.3% | 33.8% | 30.7% |
| Proficient | 31.6% | 39.4% | 48% |
| Distinguished | 11.8% | 18.3% | 10.7% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 20.3% | 10.7% | 13.2% |
| Developing | 42% | 32.1% | 38.2% |
| Proficient | 29% | 44.6% | 36.8% |
| Distinguished | 8.7% | 12.5% | 11.8% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
41 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 321 | 299 | 301 |
| Students with incidents | 37 | 47 | 41 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 48 | 103 | 65 |
| Suspended in school | 9.7% | 15.7% | 12% |
| Suspended out of school | 1.6% | 1.3% | 3.3% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 306 | 289 |
| Suspended out of school | 2.3% · 7 | 1.4% · 4 |
| Suspended in school | 16.7% · 51 | 17.3% · 50 |
| Expelled | 1.0% · 3 | 1.0% · 3 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Remote
Enrollment
288 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
12:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino5.9%
White91.7%
Black or African American0.7%
Asian0.7%
Two or More Races1.0%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130507002999
- District
- Towns County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 288 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 24.3
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24