West Chatham Middle School
Pooler, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
64.8 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 53.3 | 65 | 64.8 |
| Content mastery | 36.4 | 41.7 | 41.9 |
| Progress | 67.1 | 75.4 | 78.1 |
| Closing gaps | 34.4 | 76 | 64.1 |
| Readiness | 68.4 | 73.6 | 76.2 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 33.4% | 46.6% | 42.9% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 52.3% | 40.3% | 42.3% |
| Developing | 28.8% | 34.1% | 36.1% |
| Proficient | 17% | 22.3% | 18.6% |
| Distinguished | 1.9% | 3.3% | 3.1% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 44.8% | 42% | 35.2% |
| Developing | 37.3% | 38.7% | 44.4% |
| Proficient | 14.1% | 14.1% | 16.5% |
| Distinguished | 3.9% | 5.2% | 4% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 50.6% | 54.5% | 49.5% |
| Developing | 24.2% | 21.9% | 26.6% |
| Proficient | 19.9% | 19.2% | 17.7% |
| Distinguished | 5.2% | 4.5% | 6.3% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
146 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 1,111 | 1,099 | 854 |
| Students with incidents | 229 | 224 | 146 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 455 | 456 | 235 |
| Suspended in school | 10.8% | 9.8% | 6.2% |
| Suspended out of school | 13.1% | 13% | 10.8% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 967 | 943 |
| Suspended out of school | 13.5% · 131 | 16.0% · 151 |
| Suspended in school | 10.8% · 104 | 12.3% · 116 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 1.2% · 11 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
943 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
12:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino30.0%
White21.1%
Black or African American41.0%
Asian2.0%
Two or More Races5.7%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130102002242
- District
- Savannah-Chatham County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 943 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 78.1
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24