West Laurens High School
Dexter, GA
PublicHigh · Grades 9–12
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
85.5 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 87.2 | 80.6 | 85.5 |
| Content mastery | 75.3 | 75.5 | 79.8 |
| Progress | 100 | 84.2 | 86.5 |
| Closing gaps | 100 | 75 | 97.6 |
| Readiness | 75.4 | 78.5 | 81.1 |
| Graduation rate component | 88.9 | 88.7 | 91.4 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 22.7% | 23.5% | 17.3% |
| Developing | 36.4% | 31.3% | 35.7% |
| Proficient | 33.5% | 37.7% | 39.2% |
| Distinguished | 7.4% | 7.5% | 7.9% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 9.5% | 10.8% | 11.5% |
| Developing | 25.7% | 26.9% | 28.9% |
| Proficient | 50.8% | 48.7% | 39.1% |
| Distinguished | 14% | 13.7% | 20.5% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 17.5% | 22% | 16.5% |
| Developing | 19.8% | 28.8% | 33.7% |
| Proficient | 51.1% | 37.2% | 36.5% |
| Distinguished | 11.6% | 12.1% | 13.3% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
294 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 1,317 | 1,287 | 1,289 |
| Students with incidents | 349 | 270 | 294 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 875 | 551 | 560 |
| Suspended in school | 20.6% | 16.5% | 18.8% |
| Suspended out of school | 13.8% | 8.2% | 7.6% |
| Expelled | 0.1% | 0.2% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 5 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 1,273 | 1,243 |
| Suspended out of school | 8.1% · 103 | 9.2% · 114 |
| Suspended in school | 19.9% · 253 | 18.3% · 227 |
| Expelled | 1.4% · 18 | 1.4% · 17 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Distant
Enrollment
1,241 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
16:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino4.9%
White64.5%
Black or African American26.0%
Asian1.8%
Two or More Races2.7%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.1%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130189003887
- District
- Laurens County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 1,241 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 80.3
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24