South Elementary
Mooresville, NC
PublicElementary · Grades Pre-K–2
School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
B grade for 2024–25, score 72.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade | B | C | B |
| School performance score | 73 | 62 | 72 |
| School achievement score | 70.6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Reading and math | 70.6% | Not reported | Not reported |
| Math, grades 3–8 | 77.2% | Not reported | Not reported |
| Reading, grades 3–8 | 64% | Not reported | Not reported |
| School growth score | 83.3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Growth status | Met | Not reported | Not reported |
| Math performance grade | B | Not reported | Not reported |
| Math performance score | 77 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Reading performance grade | C | Not reported | Not reported |
| Reading performance score | 68 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Reading growth score | 83.3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Reading growth status | Met | Not reported | Not reported |
The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.
The grade and scores come from another school for 2023–24, 2024–25.
Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
0.000 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
Rate denominator: Student population estimate.
Discipline
State and federal reports
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
32.05 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students | 19.88 | 30.30 | 32.05 |
Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.
Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 487 | 397 |
| Suspended out of school | 2.5% · 12 | 1.5% · 6 |
| Suspended in school | 6.6% · 32 | 2.8% · 11 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
City, Small
Enrollment
456 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
13:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino18.0%
White45.8%
Black or African American25.0%
Asian2.2%
Two or More Races8.6%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
School information
North Carolina School Report Cards · 2024–25
- Calendar
- Traditional
- Title I
- Y
Public school directory
NCES ID 370312001336
- District
- Mooresville Graded School District
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 456 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 35.4
Sources
- North Carolina School Performance Grades · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Report Cards Profile · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Discipline Reports · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24