Harlem Middle School
Harlem, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
79.1 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 67.5 | 64.9 | 79.1 |
| Content mastery | 59.5 | 61.3 | 69 |
| Progress | 66.7 | 62.7 | 76.1 |
| Closing gaps | 63.3 | 52.3 | 98.2 |
| Readiness | 83.7 | 83.8 | 85.3 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 62.8% | 54.9% | 60.2% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 24.2% | 24% | 21.1% |
| Developing | 35.4% | 32% | 33.6% |
| Proficient | 34.3% | 36% | 35% |
| Distinguished | 6.1% | 8.1% | 10.3% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 24.3% | 24.7% | 16% |
| Developing | 42.6% | 40.1% | 39.4% |
| Proficient | 26.8% | 25.5% | 30.6% |
| Distinguished | 6.3% | 9.7% | 14% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 36.6% | 45.6% | 27.6% |
| Developing | 38.9% | 25.3% | 29.3% |
| Proficient | 19.5% | 21.8% | 34.9% |
| Distinguished | 5% | 7.4% | 8.2% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
165 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 1,050 | 1,063 | 1,079 |
| Students with incidents | 200 | 203 | 165 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 370 | 447 | 300 |
| Suspended in school | 15.9% | 16.8% | 12.7% |
| Suspended out of school | 8.1% | 7.4% | 6.4% |
| Expelled | 0.1% | 0% | 0.1% |
| School climate | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 937 | 997 |
| Suspended out of school | 7.6% · 71 | 8.0% · 80 |
| Suspended in school | 18.0% · 169 | 17.6% · 175 |
| Expelled | 1.4% · 13 | 0.3% · 3 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Fringe
Enrollment
1,003 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
16:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino9.5%
White62.2%
Black or African American19.9%
Asian1.1%
Two or More Races6.8%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.1%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130141001886
- District
- Columbia County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 1,003 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 62.5
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24