Shaw High School
Columbus, GA
PublicHigh · Grades 9–12 · Magnet
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
69.3 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 62.3 | 70.2 | 69.3 |
| Content mastery | 55.4 | 57.2 | 53.7 |
| Progress | 56.1 | 77.7 | 84 |
| Closing gaps | 50 | 47.4 | 20.4 |
| Readiness | 66.1 | 72.1 | 76.2 |
| Graduation rate component | 93.5 | 94.9 | 96.9 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 30.8% | 25.1% | 27.6% |
| Developing | 43.2% | 38.5% | 42.2% |
| Proficient | 24.5% | 30% | 28.2% |
| Distinguished | 1.5% | 6.4% | 2% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 40.8% | 38.6% | 30.7% |
| Developing | 44.2% | 35.4% | 40.8% |
| Proficient | 14.2% | 23.2% | 22.4% |
| Distinguished | 0.9% | 2.9% | 6.1% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 31.6% | 35% | 42.8% |
| Developing | 31% | 32.5% | 33.3% |
| Proficient | 32.2% | 30.8% | 21.8% |
| Distinguished | 5.2% | 1.7% | 2.1% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
194 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 1,352 | 1,321 | 1,233 |
| Students with incidents | 232 | 240 | 194 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 409 | 414 | 326 |
| Suspended in school | 0.1% | 1.2% | 0.6% |
| Suspended out of school | 16.1% | 16.6% | 13.3% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 1,179 | 1,220 |
| Suspended out of school | 17.4% · 205 | 19.8% · 242 |
| Suspended in school | 8.0% · 94 | 1.6% · 20 |
| Expelled | 0.5% · 6 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
City, Midsize
Enrollment
1,220 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
17:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino17.2%
White16.2%
Black or African American54.8%
Asian2.0%
Two or More Races9.2%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.4%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130387001387
- District
- Muscogee County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 1,220 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 73.7
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24