Overhills Middle
Spring Lake, NC
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
D grade for 2024–25, score 53.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade | C | D | D |
| School performance score | 55 | 48 | 53 |
| School achievement score | 45 | 42.2 | 43.8 |
| Reading and math | 40% | 37.7% | 43.2% |
| English learner progress | Not reported | Not reported | Below 5% |
| Science, grades 5 and 8 | 74.9% | 68.3% | 54.6% |
| Math, grades 3–8 | 34.5% | 35.8% | 41% |
| Reading, grades 3–8 | 45.5% | 39.6% | 45.4% |
| School growth score | 93.1 | 70.8 | 90.9 |
| Growth status | Exceeded | Met | Exceeded |
| Math performance grade | D | D | D |
| Math performance score | 44 | 43 | 51 |
| Math growth score | 82.5 | 70.6 | 89.6 |
| Math growth status | Met | Met | Exceeded |
| Reading performance grade | D | D | D |
| Reading performance score | 54 | 47 | 53 |
| Reading growth score | 86.9 | 76.7 | 81.5 |
| Reading growth status | Exceeded | Met | Met |
The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.
Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
30.956 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students | 0.000 | 12.516 | 30.956 |
Rate denominators: 2022–23, 2023–24: Final average daily membership; 2024–25: Student population estimate.
Discipline
State and federal reports
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
333.78 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students | 268.26 | 305.38 | 333.78 |
Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.
Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 812 | 813 |
| Suspended out of school | 17.7% · 144 | 17.3% · 141 |
| Suspended in school | 10.0% · 81 | 24.2% · 197 |
| Expelled | 1.8% · 15 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
City, Small
Enrollment
829 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
17:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino20.6%
White28.6%
Black or African American37.9%
Asian1.0%
Two or More Races10.5%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.7%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.7%
School information
North Carolina School Report Cards · 2024–25
- Calendar
- Traditional
Public school directory
NCES ID 370201002525
- District
- Harnett County Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- Supplemental virtual
- Enrollment
- 829 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 49.2
Sources
- North Carolina School Performance Grades · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Report Cards Profile · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Discipline Reports · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24