Mary Mcleod Bethune Middle School
Decatur, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
57 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 67.9 | 62.8 | 57 |
| Content mastery | 35.9 | 39.5 | 36.9 |
| Progress | 76.3 | 84.8 | 66.3 |
| Closing gaps | 100 | 47.4 | 57.7 |
| Readiness | 77 | 71.2 | 70.2 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 42.5% | 40.4% | 35% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 41.9% | 36% | 46.7% |
| Developing | 36.2% | 38.8% | 32.2% |
| Proficient | 19.4% | 21% | 18.6% |
| Distinguished | 2.6% | 4.1% | 2.6% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 47.2% | 45.2% | 43.3% |
| Developing | 42% | 38% | 41.7% |
| Proficient | 10.1% | 13.9% | 13% |
| Distinguished | 0.6% | 3% | 2% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 55.5% | 58.4% | 50.6% |
| Developing | 24.6% | 23% | 31.3% |
| Proficient | 16.6% | 13.9% | 13.2% |
| Distinguished | 3.3% | 4.8% | 5% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
335 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 845 | 847 | 811 |
| Students with incidents | 339 | 304 | 335 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 926 | 771 | 937 |
| Suspended in school | 4.4% | 3% | 20.1% |
| Suspended out of school | 38% | 34.5% | 31.9% |
| Expelled | 0.1% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 1 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 737 | 663 |
| Suspended out of school | 38.9% · 287 | 44.5% · 295 |
| Suspended in school | 5.0% · 37 | 4.1% · 27 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
672 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
14:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino14.0%
White1.8%
Black or African American75.4%
Asian6.0%
Two or More Races1.9%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.6%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.3%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130174002482
- District
- Dekalb County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 672 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 47
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24