The Sojourner Truth School Pcs
Washington, DC
English language arts
47.8% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 268 | 224 | 255 |
| Share | 45.1% | 50.0% | 47.8% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 268 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 11.6% | 11.6% | 17.6% |
| Level 2 | 21.6% | 20.5% | 11.4% |
| Level 3 | 21.6% | 17.9% | 23.1% |
| Level 4 | 32.8% | 31.7% | 29.0% |
| Level 5 | 12.3% | 18.3% | 18.8% |
Math
25.5% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 264 | 224 | 255 |
| Share | 18.9% | 24.6% | 25.5% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 264 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 28.8% | 23.2% | 20.4% |
| Level 2 | 33.3% | 26.8% | 32.9% |
| Level 3 | 18.9% | 25.4% | 21.2% |
| Level 4 | 17.8% | 19.2% | 19.6% |
| Level 5 | 1.1% | 5.3% | 5.9% |
DC CAPE Levels 4–5 meet or exceed expectations.
DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education
9.2% out-of-school suspension rate in 2024–25.
Out-of-school suspension rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 220 | 288 | 294 |
| Rate | 1.4% | 1.7% | 9.2% |
In-school suspensions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 220 | 288 | 294 |
| Rate | <1% | <1% | <1% |
Expulsions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 220 | 288 | 294 |
| Rate | <1% | <1% | <1% |
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 |
|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 155 |
| Suspended out of school | 0.0% · 0 |
| Suspended in school | 0.0% · 0 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 |
Location
City, Large
Enrollment
284 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
11:1
Updated 8mo ago
The Sojourner Truth School PCS uses a Montessori-based approach for middle and high school centered on deep, personalized learning in carefully designed environments with “freedom within limits.” Learning is student-led and designed to meet adolescents’ developmental needs through authentic social interaction and meaningful work with real-world applications. The school emphasizes preparing students for life (not just school) while honoring each student’s identity, voice, perspective, and choice.
Updated 8mo ago
Families must apply through the My School DC common lottery (the school cannot offer a seat or enroll a student without a My School DC application), and Sojourner Truth PCS serves grades 6–12. (thetruthschool.org) For SY2026-27, the lottery application opened December 15, 2025; the deadline was February 2, 2026 for grades 9–12 and is March 2, 2026 for PK3–8 (including grades 6–8), with optional re-ranking allowed until March 13, 2026 at 5 p.m.; lottery results are released March 27, 2026 and the common enrollment deadline is May 1, 2026. (enrolldcps.dc.gov) After matching, families receive an offer email and must complete online enrollment steps (PowerSchool Enroll), including DC residency verification (via PandaDocs) and uploading required supporting documents. (thetruthschool.org) Enrollment also requires up-to-date health forms (Universal Health Certificate and Oral Health Assessment) each year, and families are asked to upload an IEP/504 if applicable; the student is only fully enrolled once all forms are completed and the school confirms enrollment. (thetruthschool.org) If a student is not initially matched, they may remain on waitlists (which are used to fill seats as they open, do not carry over year to year, and are ordered by preference groups and then lottery number; post-lottery applicants are added below lottery applicants, generally ordered by submission date), and offer deadlines vary by school with notifications typically sent by My School DC via email/text when a waitlist offer is made. (myschooldc.org) The school’s listed lottery preference categories are Founders, Children of Staff, Sibling Attending, Sibling Offered, and Equitable Access (an OSSE-identified at-risk category such as homelessness, foster care, or TANF/SNAP). (myschooldc.org)
Updated 8mo ago
Updated 8mo ago
8:15 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Updated 8mo ago
Truth’s after-school program is facilitated by Positive Vibes Empowerment Care (PVEC). PVEC describes its program as school-based before and after care with an “Empowerment Care” approach; children enrolled benefit from a mindfulness curriculum with yoga, positive affirmations, purposeful small group conversations, and mindfulness activities. PVEC also notes that participants are assisted with homework and have an outdoor or gym activity daily.
NCES ID 110011100535
- District
- The Sojourner Truth School Pcs
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- Yes
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 284 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 25.5
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22
- DC School Report Card Assessments · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- DC School Report Card Discipline · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25