Skip to content

Downtown College Preparatory

San Jose, CA

Test scores
California state tests, 2024–25

English language arts

120 students tested

39.2% met or exceeded the standard. In 2023–24, 55.6% did.

  • Exceeded13.3%
  • Met25.8%
  • Nearly met32.5%
  • Not met28.3%

Math

120 students tested

14.2% met or exceeded the standard. In 2023–24, 14.5% did.

  • Exceeded3.3%
  • Met10.8%
  • Nearly met20.0%
  • Not met65.8%
Discipline
State and federal reports

California Department of Education

4.4% of students were suspended at least once in 2024–25.

Measure2023–242024–25
Enrolled during the year481540
Suspended in or out of school6.2% · 304.4% · 24
Suspensions3937
Violence with injury22
Violence without injury2830
Weapons00
Drugs33
Defiance only10
Other52

Each suspension is listed under its most serious offense.

U.S. Department of Education

Measure2021–222023–24
Enrolled in the fall560466
Suspended out of school3.9% · 22Not reported
Suspended in school0.0% · 0Not reported
Expelled0.4% · 2Not reported
Attendance
California Department of Education

35.0% of students were chronically absent in 2024–25.

Measure2023–242024–25
Students counted475532
Chronically absent35.8% · 17035.0% · 186

Chronically absent means missing 10% or more of the school days a student was enrolled.

School Profile

Location

City, Large

Enrollment

459 students

Student-Teacher Ratio

18:1

Demographics
Hispanic/Latino96.7%
x
White0.7%
x
Black or African American0.9%
x
Asian1.7%
x
Two or More Races0.0%
x
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
x
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
x
Public school directory

NCES ID 060159708632

District
Downtown College Preparatory District
Status
Open
School category
Regular School
Charter
Yes
Virtual instruction
Supplemental virtual
Enrollment
459 students
Teachers (FTE)
25.5

Sources