Chapel Hill Middle School
Decatur, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8 · Magnet
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
61.2 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 72.8 | 67.2 | 61.2 |
| Content mastery | 46.2 | 45.4 | 44 |
| Progress | 87.9 | 88.8 | 79.5 |
| Closing gaps | 80.6 | 42.3 | 30 |
| Readiness | 80.1 | 80.3 | 78.2 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 54.7% | 57.9% | 42% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 34.6% | 32.1% | 37.6% |
| Developing | 34.9% | 39% | 39.3% |
| Proficient | 24.4% | 22.2% | 20.4% |
| Distinguished | 6.1% | 6.7% | 2.7% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 39.8% | 38.5% | 29.7% |
| Developing | 40.2% | 43% | 48.7% |
| Proficient | 17.1% | 14.8% | 19% |
| Distinguished | 3% | 3.6% | 2.5% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 44.9% | 40.5% | 45.3% |
| Developing | 27.8% | 37.4% | 37% |
| Proficient | 20.9% | 19% | 15.6% |
| Distinguished | 6.5% | 3.1% | 2.1% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
120 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 784 | 717 | 702 |
| Students with incidents | 213 | 126 | 120 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 538 | 227 | 237 |
| Suspended in school | 14% | 8.4% | 5.7% |
| Suspended out of school | 20% | 11.7% | 14.2% |
| Expelled | 0.1% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 774 | 619 |
| Suspended out of school | 18.5% · 143 | 13.7% · 85 |
| Suspended in school | 17.4% · 135 | 10.2% · 63 |
| Expelled | 0.1% · 1 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
619 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
14:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino5.0%
White0.6%
Black or African American91.1%
Asian0.3%
Two or More Races2.6%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.2%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.2%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130174000083
- District
- Dekalb County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 619 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 44.5
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24