Mckinley Technology Hs
Washington, DC
English language arts
75.2% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 375 | 375 | 371 |
| Share | 52.0% | 74.7% | 75.2% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 375 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 8.3% | 2.9% | 2.1% |
| Level 2 | 12.0% | 5.9% | 5.9% |
| Level 3 | 27.7% | 16.5% | 16.7% |
| Level 4 | 43.7% | 55.7% | 50.9% |
| Level 5 | 8.3% | 18.9% | 24.3% |
Math
30.5% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 328 | 300 | 295 |
| Share | 21.6% | 26.7% | 30.5% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 328 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | Not reported | 11.0% | 6.1% |
| Level 2 | 28.4% | 27.3% | 17.3% |
| Level 3 | 38.7% | 35.0% | 46.1% |
| Level 4 | Not reported | 25.7% | 28.5% |
| Level 5 | <1% | 1.0% | 2.0% |
DC CAPE Levels 4–5 meet or exceed expectations.
DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education
8.5% out-of-school suspension rate in 2024–25.
Out-of-school suspension rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 696 | 707 | 732 |
| Rate | 5.9% | 4.5% | 8.5% |
In-school suspensions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 696 | 707 | 732 |
| Rate | 1.4% | 1.6% | 1.0% |
Expulsions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 696 | 707 | 732 |
| Rate | <1% | <1% | <1% |
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 690 | 703 |
| Suspended out of school | 3.3% · 23 | 5.0% · 35 |
| Suspended in school | 0.9% · 6 | 1.7% · 12 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
Location
City, Large
Enrollment
704 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
14:1
Updated 8mo ago
McKinley Technology High School emphasizes rigorous, STEM-centered instruction that builds critical thinking through real-world problem-solving and hands-on learning. Their mission focuses on developing the whole child by fostering innovation and a passion for learning through meaningful academic and extracurricular experiences that prepare students for postsecondary education and careers.
Updated 8mo ago
McKinley Technology High School’s website points families to My School DC for admissions and promotes open houses (e.g., a Winter Open House listed for Wednesday, December 10, 5:30–7:30 PM). (mckinleytech.org) To apply for grades 9–11, submit a My School DC high-school application (the SY2026–27 application opened December 15, 2025 and the grades 9–12 deadline was February 2, 2026 at 11:59 p.m.; families could optionally adjust school rankings until March 13, 2026 at 5 p.m.). (enrolldcps.dc.gov) McKinley is a DCPS selective high school with additional requirements in the application process, including report cards (final SY24–25 and SY25–26 first quarter) with a required 3.0+ GPA in English/History/Math/Science, two online recommendations (English teacher and Math teacher), plus an in-person on-site essay and a group interview as part of review. (myschooldc.org) Lottery results (and initial waitlist positions) for SY2026–27 were released March 27, 2026, with a lottery-match enrollment deadline of May 1, 2026; after results day, post-lottery applications can be submitted to join waitlists (generally added below lottery applicants, and offers are not guaranteed). (enrolldcps.dc.gov) Waitlists are driven by how you rank schools (you’re waitlisted for schools ranked above your match, or all listed schools if unmatched), but selective programs can remove students from waitlists if deemed ineligible, and DCPS selective high schools/programs (including McKinley) do not offer lottery preference/priority categories. (myschooldc.org)
Updated 8mo ago
Updated 8mo ago
8:40AM – 3:10PM
Updated 8mo ago
McKinley Technology High School’s website does not appear to publish information about an on-site after-school care/aftercare program (no hours/cost details found). (mckinleytech.org) DCPS Out of School Time Programs (OSTP) afterschool sites list for School Year 2025–2026 does not include McKinley Technology High School (meaning it is not an OSTP-managed afterschool site). Families should contact the school directly to confirm whether any school-run or partner-run after-school supervision/program is available for McKinley Tech students. (dcps.dc.gov)
NCES ID 110003000267
- District
- District Of Columbia Public Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 704 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 48.8
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24
- DC School Report Card Assessments · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- DC School Report Card Discipline · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25