John Lewis Es
Washington, DC
PublicElementary · Grades Pre-K–5
Test scores
DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education
English language arts
45.2% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 162 | 170 | 168 |
| Share | 35.8% | 35.3% | 45.2% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 160 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 29.4% | 26.8% | 23.0% |
| Level 2 | 17.5% | 19.6% | 11.5% |
| Level 3 | 18.1% | 19.0% | 20.6% |
| Level 4 | 25.6% | 26.2% | 33.3% |
| Level 5 | 9.4% | 8.3% | 11.5% |
MSAA
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | Fewer than 10 | Fewer than 10 | Fewer than 10 |
| Levels 1–4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Math
50.0% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 167 | 170 | 166 |
| Share | 28.1% | 40.0% | 50.0% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 165 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 29.1% | 15.5% | 14.7% |
| Level 2 | 26.7% | 22.0% | 15.9% |
| Level 3 | 16.4% | 23.2% | 20.2% |
| Level 4 | 23.0% | 26.2% | 34.4% |
| Level 5 | 4.8% | 13.1% | 14.7% |
MSAA
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | Fewer than 10 | Fewer than 10 | Fewer than 10 |
| Levels 1–4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
DC CAPE Levels 4–5 and MSAA Levels 3–4 meet or exceed expectations.
Discipline
State and federal reports
DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education
<1% out-of-school suspension rate in 2024–25.
Out-of-school suspension rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 468 | 537 | 546 |
| Rate | 3.2% | 1.5% | <1% |
In-school suspensions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 468 | 537 | 546 |
| Rate | <1% | 1.1% | <1% |
Expulsions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 468 | 537 | 546 |
| Rate | <1% | <1% | <1% |
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 371 | 493 |
| Suspended out of school | 2.2% · 8 | 1.8% · 9 |
| Suspended in school | 1.3% · 5 | 1.2% · 6 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
City, Large
Enrollment
493 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
12:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino24.9%
White26.8%
Black or African American43.4%
Asian2.2%
Two or More Races2.2%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 110003000067
- District
- District Of Columbia Public Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 493 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 41.5
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24
- DC School Report Card Assessments · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- DC School Report Card Discipline · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25