Upson-Lee Elementary School
Thomaston, GA
PublicElementary · Grades 3–5
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
69.1 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 69.2 | 84.3 | 69.1 |
| Content mastery | 54.2 | 63.4 | 61.2 |
| Progress | 87.6 | 96.2 | 87.8 |
| Closing gaps | 40 | 100 | 21.1 |
| Readiness | 80.8 | 83.2 | 84.3 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 3 | 33.5% | 36.8% | 33.5% |
| Grade 5 | 38.6% | 57% | 46.3% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 38.7% | 30.3% | 29.4% |
| Developing | 33.1% | 35.1% | 41.2% |
| Proficient | 22.7% | 27.7% | 22.6% |
| Distinguished | 5.5% | 6.9% | 6.8% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 25.3% | 15.7% | 14.3% |
| Developing | 35.1% | 38% | 44.3% |
| Proficient | 29.9% | 34.4% | 31.6% |
| Distinguished | 9.7% | 12% | 9.7% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 40.3% | 32.9% | 28.6% |
| Developing | 26.6% | 21.6% | 27.9% |
| Proficient | 25.6% | 32.9% | 33.7% |
| Distinguished | 7.5% | 12.7% | 9.9% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
202 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 957 | 970 | 982 |
| Students with incidents | 176 | 151 | 202 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 418 | 430 | 590 |
| Suspended in school | 14.4% | 12.2% | 17.5% |
| Suspended out of school | 3.7% | 3.8% | 4.2% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 841 | 912 |
| Suspended out of school | 2.1% · 18 | 4.1% · 37 |
| Suspended in school | 16.8% · 141 | 14.9% · 136 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Fringe
Enrollment
910 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
15:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino4.5%
White53.6%
Black or African American35.9%
Asian0.5%
Two or More Races5.2%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.1%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130528002199
- District
- Thomaston-Upson County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 910 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 62.2
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24