Veterans Memorial Middle School
Columbus, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
69.1 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 70.6 | 62 | 69.1 |
| Content mastery | 57.1 | 54.6 | 53.3 |
| Progress | 78.5 | 69.2 | 77.8 |
| Closing gaps | 65 | 32.6 | 63.2 |
| Readiness | 81.2 | 82.4 | 82.2 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 51.4% | 63.3% | 52.7% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 26.8% | 25.3% | 29.9% |
| Developing | 35.5% | 36.2% | 35.4% |
| Proficient | 31.4% | 32% | 28.5% |
| Distinguished | 6.3% | 6.5% | 6.3% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 25.3% | 31% | 30.6% |
| Developing | 44.9% | 41.9% | 42.4% |
| Proficient | 23.9% | 19.9% | 19.8% |
| Distinguished | 5.9% | 7.2% | 7.3% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 36.3% | 46.1% | 45.1% |
| Developing | 25.7% | 22.1% | 29% |
| Proficient | 30.1% | 26.3% | 17.1% |
| Distinguished | 8% | 5.5% | 8.8% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
146 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 740 | 703 | 726 |
| Students with incidents | 187 | 186 | 146 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 405 | 420 | 282 |
| Suspended in school | 16.1% | 18.8% | 7.2% |
| Suspended out of school | 13% | 14.4% | 11.2% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 691 | 658 |
| Suspended out of school | 16.8% · 116 | 16.3% · 107 |
| Suspended in school | 18.7% · 129 | 21.9% · 144 |
| Expelled | 0.3% · 2 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
City, Midsize
Enrollment
658 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
15:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino19.0%
White34.8%
Black or African American32.4%
Asian4.0%
Two or More Races9.7%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.2%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130387003680
- District
- Muscogee County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 658 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 43.4
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24