Toombs County Middle School
Lyons, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
57.2 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 65.6 | 59.1 | 57.2 |
| Content mastery | 49.3 | 49.3 | 48.6 |
| Progress | 64.5 | 55.6 | 54.6 |
| Closing gaps | 85 | 63.6 | 58.3 |
| Readiness | 76.8 | 76.7 | 73.7 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 45.3% | 53.8% | 44.7% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 33.6% | 30.8% | 36.7% |
| Developing | 35.2% | 36% | 33.7% |
| Proficient | 25.7% | 27.2% | 24.8% |
| Distinguished | 5.5% | 6% | 4.8% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 29.5% | 31.4% | 29.2% |
| Developing | 45.7% | 46.3% | 46% |
| Proficient | 20.6% | 16.3% | 20.3% |
| Distinguished | 4.3% | 6% | 4.5% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 50.4% | 49.1% | 43.4% |
| Developing | 22.1% | 29.2% | 27.6% |
| Proficient | 21.2% | 16.2% | 22.8% |
| Distinguished | 6.2% | 5.6% | 6.1% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
155 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 736 | 718 | 740 |
| Students with incidents | 215 | 204 | 155 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 617 | 637 | 367 |
| Suspended in school | 20.4% | 22.4% | 16.8% |
| Suspended out of school | 11% | 9.5% | 8.1% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 641 | 672 |
| Suspended out of school | 8.7% · 56 | 10.6% · 71 |
| Suspended in school | 18.7% · 120 | 25.0% · 168 |
| Expelled | 0.2% · 1 | 1.8% · 12 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Fringe
Enrollment
672 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
13:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino26.8%
White47.6%
Black or African American19.0%
Asian0.3%
Two or More Races5.8%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130504002993
- District
- Toombs County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 672 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 50
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24