Hightower Elementary School
Doraville, GA
PublicElementary · Grades Pre-K–5
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
76.2 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 64.3 | 65 | 76.2 |
| Content mastery | 35.8 | 36.1 | 46.1 |
| Progress | 79.3 | 84.9 | 91.5 |
| Closing gaps | 75 | 61.1 | 100 |
| Readiness | 72.7 | 76.6 | 76.9 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 3 | 29.7% | 15.5% | 26.2% |
| Grade 5 | 39.5% | 31.3% | 32.3% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 50.4% | 50.8% | 48.5% |
| Developing | 33.7% | 31.1% | 29.4% |
| Proficient | 14.7% | 14.9% | 18.3% |
| Distinguished | 1.2% | 3.2% | 3.8% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 43.3% | 42% | 28.4% |
| Developing | 37.7% | 41.2% | 42.8% |
| Proficient | 17.9% | 15.1% | 23.3% |
| Distinguished | 1.2% | 1.6% | 5.5% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 50.7% | 58.1% | 43.2% |
| Developing | 30.1% | 24.7% | 25.7% |
| Proficient | 17.8% | 12.9% | 24.3% |
| Distinguished | 1.4% | 4.3% | 6.8% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
25 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 683 | 742 | 683 |
| Students with incidents | 37 | 51 | 25 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 72 | 91 | 35 |
| Suspended in school | 2.2% | 1.8% | 1.5% |
| Suspended out of school | 3.2% | 4.3% | 1% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 582 | 597 |
| Suspended out of school | 4.5% · 26 | 5.4% · 32 |
| Suspended in school | 2.7% · 16 | 2.2% · 13 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
619 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
13:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino90.6%
White1.0%
Black or African American3.4%
Asian3.7%
Two or More Races0.6%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.6%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130174000704
- District
- Dekalb County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 619 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 46.3
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24