Thomson Middle School
Centerville, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
77.5 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 70.4 | 82.9 | 77.5 |
| Content mastery | 63.6 | 69.8 | 69.8 |
| Progress | 76.3 | 85.8 | 84.6 |
| Closing gaps | 51.6 | 100 | 66.7 |
| Readiness | 84.7 | 85 | 84.6 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 54.9% | 69.7% | 55% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 21.4% | 20.2% | 19.7% |
| Developing | 35.5% | 32.7% | 34.8% |
| Proficient | 36.2% | 34.6% | 33.4% |
| Distinguished | 6.9% | 12.4% | 12.1% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 20% | 18.1% | 14.6% |
| Developing | 39.4% | 39.4% | 44.9% |
| Proficient | 31.8% | 27.9% | 26.6% |
| Distinguished | 8.8% | 14.5% | 13.9% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 30% | 22.1% | 24% |
| Developing | 28.3% | 31.2% | 24.9% |
| Proficient | 34.3% | 37.7% | 34.7% |
| Distinguished | 7.3% | 9.1% | 16.4% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
243 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 806 | 806 | 831 |
| Students with incidents | 216 | 239 | 243 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 576 | 690 | 702 |
| Suspended in school | 25.1% | 27.3% | 26.7% |
| Suspended out of school | 9.2% | 13.4% | 9% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 779 | 717 |
| Suspended out of school | 13.9% · 108 | 16.6% · 119 |
| Suspended in school | 30.6% · 238 | 30.7% · 220 |
| Expelled | 4.7% · 37 | 2.5% · 18 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Midsize
Enrollment
717 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
14:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino14.8%
White31.4%
Black or African American42.4%
Asian3.2%
Two or More Races7.9%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130288001221
- District
- Houston County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 717 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 52.8
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24