Irwin County Middle School
Ocilla, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
67.9 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 70.4 | 73.5 | 67.9 |
| Content mastery | 58.9 | 59.6 | 58.7 |
| Progress | 88.3 | 77.2 | 81.7 |
| Closing gaps | 38.6 | 84.4 | 37.5 |
| Readiness | 80.1 | 79.4 | 80.1 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 60.7% | 56.9% | 58% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 24.3% | 24.9% | 34.7% |
| Developing | 37% | 34.9% | 31.5% |
| Proficient | 30.5% | 31.1% | 24.4% |
| Distinguished | 8.1% | 9.1% | 9.5% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 21.4% | 22.6% | 22.1% |
| Developing | 41.1% | 43.4% | 42.5% |
| Proficient | 25.4% | 22.6% | 24.7% |
| Distinguished | 12.2% | 11.4% | 10.6% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 38.7% | 40.9% | 27.6% |
| Developing | 35.2% | 30.4% | 31.9% |
| Proficient | 19% | 22.6% | 22.4% |
| Distinguished | 7% | 6.1% | 18.1% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
124 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 412 | 384 | 383 |
| Students with incidents | 115 | 106 | 124 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 277 | 239 | 296 |
| Suspended in school | 23.3% | 22.4% | 27.2% |
| Suspended out of school | 11.4% | 8.1% | 9.1% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 398 | 360 |
| Suspended out of school | 9.5% · 38 | 8.6% · 31 |
| Suspended in school | 22.9% · 91 | 25.3% · 91 |
| Expelled | 0.8% · 3 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Distant
Enrollment
360 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
11:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino6.9%
White57.8%
Black or African American31.4%
Asian0.3%
Two or More Races3.6%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130291001243
- District
- Irwin County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 360 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 34.2
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24