Dean Rusk Middle School
Canton, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
88.1 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 78.7 | 82.2 | 88.1 |
| Content mastery | 77.6 | 80.9 | 83.8 |
| Progress | 82.1 | 84.5 | 89.3 |
| Closing gaps | 61.8 | 70.4 | 93.1 |
| Readiness | 86.8 | 88.7 | 88.8 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 69.3% | 70% | 65.6% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 17.7% | 16.2% | 16% |
| Developing | 29.1% | 29% | 27.6% |
| Proficient | 40.9% | 39% | 39% |
| Distinguished | 12.4% | 15.8% | 17.5% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 13.5% | 13.1% | 11.2% |
| Developing | 32.6% | 28.2% | 27.4% |
| Proficient | 35% | 33.9% | 33.6% |
| Distinguished | 18.9% | 24.8% | 27.8% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 21.9% | 21.6% | 17.9% |
| Developing | 23% | 23.3% | 26.9% |
| Proficient | 37.7% | 37.3% | 34.6% |
| Distinguished | 17.5% | 17.8% | 20.6% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
356 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 1,531 | 1,552 | 1,598 |
| Students with incidents | 310 | 240 | 356 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 747 | 362 | 828 |
| Suspended in school | 15.9% | 13.8% | 15.1% |
| Suspended out of school | 8.4% | 4.1% | 9.8% |
| Expelled | 0.5% | 0.1% | 0.4% |
| School climate | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 1,490 | 1,480 |
| Suspended out of school | 10.0% · 149 | 6.9% · 102 |
| Suspended in school | 15.1% · 225 | 20.4% · 302 |
| Expelled | 0.9% · 14 | 0.5% · 7 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
1,483 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
16:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino17.9%
White64.7%
Black or African American8.1%
Asian3.3%
Two or More Races5.9%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.1%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130111001970
- District
- Cherokee County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 1,483 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 90.8
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24