Skip to content

West Johnston High

Benson, NC

School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

C grade for 2024–25, score 66.

Measure2022–232023–242024–25
GradeCCC
School performance score646666
School achievement score65.86867.6
Reading and math47.8%53.2%54.6%
ACT and WorkKeys57.6%54%58.9%
Standard cohort graduation rate94.9%Above 95%Above 95%
English learner progressNot reportedNot reported14.3%
Math course rigorAbove 95%Above 95%Above 95%
Biology57.5%54%45.5%
School growth score5558.359.4
Growth statusNotMetNotMetNotMet

The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.

Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

1.989 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2024–25.

Measure2022–232023–242024–25
Reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students13.8994.5991.989

Rate denominators: 2022–23, 2023–24: Final average daily membership; 2024–25: Student population estimate.

Discipline
State and federal reports

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

78.25 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2024–25.

Measure2022–232023–242024–25
Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students130.6593.9678.25

Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.

Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.

U.S. Department of Education

Measure2021–222023–24
Enrolled in the fall1,3431,593
Suspended out of school9.0% · 1216.9% · 110
Suspended in school8.2% · 1104.8% · 76
Expelled0.0% · 00.0% · 0
School Profile

Location

Rural, Fringe

Enrollment

1,593 students

Student-Teacher Ratio

20:1

Demographics
Hispanic/Latino28.2%
x
White53.2%
x
Black or African American12.0%
x
Asian1.1%
x
Two or More Races4.9%
x
American Indian or Alaska Native0.6%
x
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
x
School information
North Carolina School Report Cards · 2024–25
Calendar
Traditional
Public school directory

NCES ID 370237002635

District
Johnston County Public Schools
Status
Open
School category
Regular School
Charter
No
Virtual instruction
No virtual instruction
Enrollment
1,593 students
Teachers (FTE)
80.3

Sources