Washington Leadership Academy Pcs
Washington, DC
English language arts
19.2% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 175 | 190 | 193 |
| Share | 18.9% | 24.2% | 19.2% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 175 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 38.9% | 30.0% | 30.6% |
| Level 2 | 26.3% | 23.1% | 27.5% |
| Level 3 | 16.0% | 22.6% | 22.8% |
| Level 4 | 17.1% | 20.5% | 17.1% |
| Level 5 | 1.7% | 3.7% | 2.1% |
Math
11.9% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 164 | 180 | 184 |
| Share | 5.5% | 10.0% | 11.9% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 164 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 29.9% | 28.9% | 23.9% |
| Level 2 | 47.6% | 41.1% | 40.2% |
| Level 3 | 17.1% | 20.0% | 23.9% |
| Level 4 | Not reported | Not reported | 11.4% |
| Level 5 | <1% | <1% | <1% |
DC CAPE Levels 4–5 meet or exceed expectations.
DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education
24.2% out-of-school suspension rate in 2024–25.
Out-of-school suspension rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 386 | 414 | 405 |
| Rate | 18.1% | 22.7% | 24.2% |
In-school suspensions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 386 | 414 | 405 |
| Rate | <1% | <1% | <1% |
Expulsions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 386 | 414 | 405 |
| Rate | <1% | <1% | 1.5% |
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 411 | 361 |
| Suspended out of school | 13.9% · 57 | 26.6% · 96 |
| Suspended in school | 0.2% · 1 | 0.0% · 0 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
Location
City, Large
Enrollment
398 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
9:1
Updated 8mo ago
Washington Leadership Academy’s teaching approach centers on a liberatory, tech-focused model that combines academic rigor with social justice and personal growth, aiming to graduate students who are college-ready, career-ready in technology, and prepared to lead positive change. They emphasize high expectations and strong relationships (“lead with love”), use restorative practices rather than exclusionary discipline, and prioritize equity/antiracism while serving all students, including those needing special education or behavioral supports.
Updated 8mo ago
Washington Leadership Academy PCS (grades 9–12) participates in the My School DC public charter school lottery; families apply by submitting a MySchoolDC application and ranking WLA, and they can also submit a post-lottery application to be added to the waitlist after the deadline. (washingtonleadershipacademy.org) For the 2026–2027 lottery cycle, the high school (grades 9–12) application deadline was February 2, 2026, and lottery results/waitlist positions are scheduled to be released March 27, 2026. (apply.myschooldc.dc.gov) If offered a seat, WLA’s enrollment steps include DC residency verification (with proof documents), PowerSchool pre-registration, and required health/enrollment documents such as immunization records, a birth certificate, and (for new students) the prior year academic transcript. (washingtonleadershipacademy.org) WLA states that if families do not complete required enrollment items by the school’s stated deadline, the student may lose the seat and it will be offered to the next student on the waitlist (e.g., May 9, 2025 deadlines were listed for SY 2025–2026). (washingtonleadershipacademy.org) Priority categories (lottery preferences) shown for WLA are: sibling attending, twin offered, sibling offered, children of staff, and founders. (myschooldc.org)
Updated 8mo ago
Updated 8mo ago
8:30 a.m. – 3:30 p.m
Updated 8mo ago
My School DC lists "Extended Day" under Washington Leadership Academy PCS "Specialized Programs" and notes "Additional Enrichment Offered: Tech, coding, robotics, 3D printing, sports." No specific after-school/extended-day hours or pricing were found on the publicly accessible pages reviewed.
NCES ID 110010300510
- District
- Washington Leadership Academy Pcs
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- Yes
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 398 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 46
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24
- DC School Report Card Assessments · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- DC School Report Card Discipline · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25