Hancock Central Middle School
Sparta, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
62.4 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 56.1 | 50.6 | 62.4 |
| Content mastery | 25.2 | 24.8 | 27.8 |
| Progress | 84 | 76.8 | 86.4 |
| Closing gaps | 29.2 | 11.1 | 62.5 |
| Readiness | 73.6 | 73 | 72.2 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 29.6% | 32.6% | 36.5% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 48.7% | 47.2% | 57.3% |
| Developing | 36.2% | 41.6% | 29.3% |
| Proficient | 13.2% | 9.9% | 10.7% |
| Distinguished | 2% | 1.4% | 2.7% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 67.1% | 61.3% | 50% |
| Developing | 29.6% | 35.2% | 41.2% |
| Proficient | 3.3% | 3.5% | 7.4% |
| Distinguished | 0% | 0% | 1.4% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 62.3% | 72.7% | 76% |
| Developing | 24.5% | 20.5% | 14% |
| Proficient | 11.3% | 4.6% | 8% |
| Distinguished | 1.9% | 2.3% | 2% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
87 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 170 | 165 | 174 |
| Students with incidents | 94 | 87 | 87 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 290 | 271 | 236 |
| Suspended in school | 40% | 37.6% | 35.1% |
| Suspended out of school | 39.4% | 33.9% | 32.2% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 1 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 155 | 149 |
| Suspended out of school | 34.2% · 53 | 36.2% · 54 |
| Suspended in school | 12.3% · 19 | 40.9% · 61 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Remote
Enrollment
147 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
15:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino2.0%
White2.0%
Black or African American94.6%
Asian0.0%
Two or More Races1.4%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130264003539
- District
- Hancock County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 147 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 10
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24