Frederick Douglass High School
Atlanta, GA
PublicHigh · Grades 9–12
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
65.2 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 53.1 | 67.2 | 65.2 |
| Content mastery | 25.7 | 36.8 | 43.1 |
| Progress | 82 | 96.2 | 81.9 |
| Closing gaps | 50 | 96.2 | 79 |
| Readiness | 36.4 | 39.6 | 44.4 |
| Graduation rate component | 68.3 | 78.4 | 87.7 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 63.2% | 60.5% | 56.7% |
| Developing | 30.6% | 29.3% | 29.9% |
| Proficient | 6.2% | 9.2% | 13.1% |
| Distinguished | 0% | 1% | 0.3% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 66.4% | 37.3% | 40.5% |
| Developing | 24.5% | 32.5% | 38.8% |
| Proficient | 8.1% | 23.6% | 17.5% |
| Distinguished | 1% | 6.6% | 3.2% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 56.9% | 60.3% | 41.5% |
| Developing | 27.6% | 22.3% | 25% |
| Proficient | 14.4% | 15.3% | 29.4% |
| Distinguished | 1.2% | 2.1% | 4.1% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
525 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 1,278 | 1,352 | 1,486 |
| Students with incidents | 448 | 490 | 525 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 1013 | 1009 | 1286 |
| Suspended in school | 12.2% | 15.3% | 19.9% |
| Suspended out of school | 30.8% | 28.5% | 25.1% |
| Expelled | 0.2% | 0.1% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 1,183 | 1,195 |
| Suspended out of school | 35.0% · 414 | 33.5% · 400 |
| Suspended in school | 7.9% · 93 | 18.2% · 218 |
| Expelled | 2.0% · 24 | 0.1% · 1 |
School Profile
Location
City, Large
Enrollment
1,194 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
13:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino7.0%
White0.2%
Black or African American90.9%
Asian0.3%
Two or More Races1.3%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.5%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130012000089
- District
- Atlanta Public Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 1,194 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 89.6
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24