Kipp Gaston College Preparatory
Gaston, NC
CharterOther · Grades K–12
School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
C grade for 2024–25, score 58.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade | D | D | C |
| School performance score | 46 | 52 | 58 |
| School achievement score | 38.1 | 42.1 | 48.3 |
| Reading and math | 32.5% | 37.7% | 43.8% |
| ACT and WorkKeys | 18.6% | 6.6% | 14% |
| Standard cohort graduation rate | 83.3% | 84% | 84% |
| English learner progress | Not reported | Not reported | 15.2% |
| Math course rigor | Above 95% | Above 95% | Above 95% |
| Science, grades 5 and 8 | 45.1% | 50% | 64.1% |
| Biology | 20.7% | 34% | 31.3% |
| Math, grades 3–8 | 34.8% | 37% | 45.1% |
| Reading, grades 3–8 | 31.3% | 35.4% | 40.6% |
| School growth score | 75.1 | 90.2 | 98.3 |
| Growth status | Met | Exceeded | Exceeded |
| Math performance grade | D | D | D |
| Math performance score | 44 | 49 | 54 |
| Math growth score | 81.2 | 94.6 | 90.2 |
| Math growth status | Met | Exceeded | Exceeded |
| Reading performance grade | D | D | D |
| Reading performance score | 41 | 44 | 51 |
| Reading growth score | 80.5 | 76.4 | 91.9 |
| Reading growth status | Met | Met | Exceeded |
The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.
Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
10.724 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students | 12.245 | 10.435 | 10.724 |
Rate denominators: 2022–23, 2023–24: Final average daily membership; 2024–25: Student population estimate.
Discipline
State and federal reports
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
214.48 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students | 330.61 | 326.09 | 214.48 |
Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.
Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 1,348 | 1,185 |
| Suspended out of school | 10.7% · 144 | 18.4% · 218 |
| Suspended in school | 0.0% · 0 | 6.3% · 75 |
| Expelled | 0.4% · 6 | 0.1% · 1 |
School Profile
Location
Town, Distant
Enrollment
1,183 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
16:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino7.0%
White4.9%
Black or African American81.1%
Asian0.4%
Two or More Races5.7%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.7%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.1%
School information
North Carolina School Report Cards · 2024–25
- Calendar
- Traditional
- Title I
- Y
Public school directory
NCES ID 370012302597
- District
- Kipp Gaston College Preparatory
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- Yes
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 1,183 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 72.1
Sources
- North Carolina School Performance Grades · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Report Cards Profile · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Discipline Reports · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24