Barber Middle School
Acworth, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
66.3 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 69.5 | 78.6 | 66.3 |
| Content mastery | 60.2 | 66 | 63.1 |
| Progress | 81.7 | 82.7 | 74.2 |
| Closing gaps | 39.7 | 84 | 30.9 |
| Readiness | 83.8 | 86 | 84 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 61.6% | 65.9% | 55.5% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 20.1% | 18.7% | 23.6% |
| Developing | 35.1% | 31.5% | 32.4% |
| Proficient | 36.2% | 37% | 29.9% |
| Distinguished | 8.6% | 12.8% | 14.1% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 23.7% | 17.2% | 20.4% |
| Developing | 45.8% | 43.2% | 39.9% |
| Proficient | 21.4% | 26.3% | 29.2% |
| Distinguished | 9.1% | 13.4% | 10.4% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 35% | 28.6% | 28.5% |
| Developing | 26.7% | 35.5% | 32.7% |
| Proficient | 32.1% | 30.9% | 30.8% |
| Distinguished | 6.1% | 5% | 8.1% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
208 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 946 | 910 | 858 |
| Students with incidents | 221 | 215 | 208 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 462 | 476 | 441 |
| Suspended in school | 18.6% | 19.3% | 19.7% |
| Suspended out of school | 11.2% | 10.5% | 9.1% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 873 | 832 |
| Suspended out of school | 12.8% · 112 | 12.1% · 101 |
| Suspended in school | 16.8% · 147 | 22.5% · 187 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
832 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
16:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino23.4%
White25.8%
Black or African American39.2%
Asian4.0%
Two or More Races7.5%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130129003531
- District
- Cobb County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 832 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 52
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24