South Jackson Elementary School
Athens, GA
PublicElementary · Grades Pre-K–5
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
79.4 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 69.4 | 81.5 | 79.4 |
| Content mastery | 63.7 | 66.7 | 68.3 |
| Progress | 91.1 | 85.3 | 87.3 |
| Closing gaps | 13.9 | 100 | 73.7 |
| Readiness | 81.4 | 82.8 | 86.3 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 3 | 44.9% | 39.2% | 41.9% |
| Grade 5 | 51% | 51% | 48.6% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 31.1% | 27.8% | 24.7% |
| Developing | 30% | 32.1% | 37% |
| Proficient | 29% | 25.8% | 25% |
| Distinguished | 9.9% | 14.4% | 13.3% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 20.5% | 16.7% | 15.7% |
| Developing | 33.8% | 38.1% | 38% |
| Proficient | 29% | 27.8% | 28.3% |
| Distinguished | 16.7% | 17.4% | 18% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 33.3% | 32.7% | 30.1% |
| Developing | 30% | 30.6% | 27.2% |
| Proficient | 27.8% | 25.5% | 27.2% |
| Distinguished | 8.9% | 11.2% | 15.5% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
18 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 739 | 762 | 777 |
| Students with incidents | 23 | 24 | 18 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 254 | 143 | 76 |
| Suspended in school | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Suspended out of school | 0% | 1.3% | 0.4% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 5 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 594 | 629 |
| Suspended out of school | 1.0% · 6 | 1.7% · 11 |
| Suspended in school | 0.2% · 1 | 0.0% · 0 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Fringe
Enrollment
701 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
12:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino18.3%
White67.2%
Black or African American9.0%
Asian0.7%
Two or More Races4.7%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130294001251
- District
- Jackson County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 701 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 61.2
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24