Herman J. Russell West End Academy
Atlanta, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
65.5 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 55 | 62.8 | 65.5 |
| Content mastery | 30.4 | 34.2 | 35.7 |
| Progress | 74.8 | 86.9 | 85 |
| Closing gaps | 43.8 | 66.7 | 81.3 |
| Readiness | 65.3 | 60.3 | 64.3 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 35% | 41.8% | 23.9% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 53.8% | 50.3% | 49.7% |
| Developing | 28.4% | 29% | 31.8% |
| Proficient | 14.7% | 17.1% | 15.9% |
| Distinguished | 3.1% | 3.6% | 2.7% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 59.9% | 46.1% | 43.9% |
| Developing | 34.9% | 41.3% | 39.2% |
| Proficient | 4% | 10.3% | 13.9% |
| Distinguished | 1.2% | 2.3% | 3% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 47.4% | 59.1% | 52.3% |
| Developing | 24.6% | 24.6% | 26.2% |
| Proficient | 21.1% | 14.6% | 15.9% |
| Distinguished | 7% | 1.8% | 5.6% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
157 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 459 | 430 | 396 |
| Students with incidents | 169 | 161 | 157 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 371 | 355 | 337 |
| Suspended in school | 5.2% | 14.4% | 16.4% |
| Suspended out of school | 28.5% | 28.4% | 27% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 370 | 366 |
| Suspended out of school | 18.4% · 68 | 35.0% · 128 |
| Suspended in school | 3.8% · 14 | 17.5% · 64 |
| Expelled | 1.6% · 6 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
City, Large
Enrollment
366 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
10:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino2.5%
White0.0%
Black or African American95.4%
Asian0.5%
Two or More Races1.4%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.3%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130012002344
- District
- Atlanta Public Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 366 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 36.3
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24