Cesar Chavez Public Charter Schools For Public Policy
Washington, DC
English language arts
22.1% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 250 | 241 | 208 |
| Share | 23.2% | 24.5% | 22.1% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 250 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 29.2% | 32.4% | 30.8% |
| Level 2 | 28.0% | 21.2% | 24.0% |
| Level 3 | 19.6% | 22.0% | 23.1% |
| Level 4 | 20.8% | 21.6% | 19.2% |
| Level 5 | 2.4% | 2.9% | 2.9% |
Math
1.4% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 231 | 212 | 222 |
| Share | 5.6% | 4.7% | 1.4% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 231 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 32.5% | 42.5% | 44.1% |
| Level 2 | 41.5% | 36.8% | 38.7% |
| Level 3 | 20.3% | 16.0% | 15.8% |
| Level 4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 5 | <1% | <1% | <1% |
DC CAPE Levels 4–5 meet or exceed expectations.
DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education
11.2% out-of-school suspension rate in 2024–25.
Out-of-school suspension rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 412 | 413 | 376 |
| Rate | 15.5% | 19.4% | 11.2% |
In-school suspensions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 412 | 413 | 376 |
| Rate | <1% | <1% | <1% |
Expulsions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 412 | 413 | 376 |
| Rate | 1.0% | <1% | <1% |
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 365 | 400 |
| Suspended out of school | 16.2% · 59 | 21.5% · 86 |
| Suspended in school | 0.0% · 0 | 21.5% · 86 |
| Expelled | 0.8% · 3 | 1.0% · 4 |
Location
City, Large
Enrollment
399 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
9:1
Updated 8mo ago
Cesar Chavez PCS emphasizes a rigorous, college-preparatory education in a safe and supportive environment where students are “safe, known, and loved,” and learn through multiple modalities while demonstrating mastery through authentic intellectual work. (chavezschools.org) Their teaching approach is tightly connected to public policy: students build skills like researching, writing, presenting, and advocating through a framework that blends classroom instruction with experiential/service-learning projects (e.g., advocacy projects, capstone-style work, and a culminating senior thesis). (chavezschools.org)
Updated 8mo ago
Cesar Chavez PCS participates in the My School DC common lottery and states it only accepts the My School DC application; families create an account on MySchoolDC, apply/rank Chavez, and if matched (or later offered a seat) complete Chavez’s enrollment steps including the Infosnap form. (chavezschools.org) For SY2026–27, the My School DC lottery deadlines are February 2, 2026 (Grades 9–12) and March 2, 2026 (PK3–Grade 8, which covers Chavez’s Grades 6–8 applicants), with lottery results/waitlist positions posted March 27, 2026; matched students must complete enrollment by the common deadline of May 1, 2026. (myschooldc.org) Chavez lists required enrollment items such as submitting a DC Residency Form and supporting documents, student birth certificate, academic records, DC health/oral health forms, and (if applicable) IEP/504 documentation (and it also references a home visit form). (chavezschools.org) If you miss the lottery deadline, Chavez directs families to the My School DC post-lottery application; Chavez says post-lottery applicants go to the bottom of the waitlist below lottery applicants, and it contacts families by phone/email when seats open and reviews/sends acceptances daily. (chavezschools.org) Chavez explicitly notes a priority/preference category for siblings of current students, who can receive preference and move up the waitlist (including in the post-lottery period). (chavezschools.org)
Updated 8mo ago
Updated 8mo ago
8:50 AM – 3:31 PM
Updated 8mo ago
Chavez’s website/handbook do not describe a dedicated paid after-school childcare/aftercare program (with pickup hours and fees). The 2025–2026 Scholar Handbook states that after regular class dismissal, scholars are encouraged to use the building for learning and extracurricular purposes, but must leave campus upon dismissal unless they are under direct supervision of school personnel or there is a special event taking place. The site separately lists after-school activities (clubs/athletics) for Lower School and Upper School, but does not provide aftercare-style hours or pricing.
NCES ID 110000500456
- District
- Cesar Chavez Pcs For Public Policy
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- Yes
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 399 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 43
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24
- DC School Report Card Assessments · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- DC School Report Card Discipline · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25