E Lawson Brown Middle
Thomasville, NC
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
D grade for 2024–25, score 53.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade | D | D | D |
| School performance score | 54 | 46 | 53 |
| School achievement score | 49.5 | 44.4 | 50 |
| Reading and math | 46.7% | 41.3% | 50.1% |
| English learner progress | Not reported | Not reported | 16.7% |
| Science, grades 5 and 8 | 65.7% | 63.2% | 55.1% |
| Math, grades 3–8 | 46.7% | 43.7% | 53.3% |
| Reading, grades 3–8 | 46.6% | 39% | 46.9% |
| School growth score | 71.8 | 50 | 63.4 |
| Growth status | Met | NotMet | NotMet |
| Math performance grade | D | D | C |
| Math performance score | 52 | 45 | 55 |
| Math growth score | 73.4 | 50.8 | 59.6 |
| Math growth status | Met | NotMet | NotMet |
| Reading performance grade | D | D | D |
| Reading performance score | 54 | 42 | 54 |
| Reading growth score | 84.7 | 54.3 | 81.1 |
| Reading growth status | Met | NotMet | Met |
The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.
Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
14.545 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students | 14.981 | 7.326 | 14.545 |
Rate denominators: 2022–23, 2023–24: Final average daily membership; 2024–25: Student population estimate.
Discipline
State and federal reports
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
296.36 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students | 374.53 | 324.18 | 296.36 |
Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.
Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 566 | 551 |
| Suspended out of school | 14.8% · 84 | 16.2% · 89 |
| Suspended in school | 9.5% · 54 | 24.1% · 133 |
| Expelled | 0.4% · 2 | 0.2% · 1 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Midsize
Enrollment
551 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
17:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino14.0%
White77.3%
Black or African American4.2%
Asian1.3%
Two or More Races3.3%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
School information
North Carolina School Report Cards · 2024–25
- Calendar
- Traditional
Public school directory
NCES ID 370114000466
- District
- Davidson County Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- Supplemental virtual
- Enrollment
- 551 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 32.2
Sources
- North Carolina School Performance Grades · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Report Cards Profile · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Discipline Reports · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24