Claxton Elementary School
Claxton, GA
PublicElementary · Grades Pre-K–5
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
66 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 49 | 61.2 | 66 |
| Content mastery | 32.8 | 33.3 | 36.5 |
| Progress | 60.3 | 70.3 | 77.8 |
| Closing gaps | 32.6 | 78.6 | 85.7 |
| Readiness | 66.2 | 73.8 | 74.8 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 3 | 24% | 14.4% | 14.9% |
| Grade 5 | 25.2% | 29.8% | 30% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 57.8% | 55.9% | 51.5% |
| Developing | 27.8% | 28.6% | 35.5% |
| Proficient | 13.5% | 13.1% | 11% |
| Distinguished | 1% | 2.4% | 2.1% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 43.5% | 46.7% | 41.1% |
| Developing | 40.3% | 35.9% | 38.5% |
| Proficient | 12.5% | 13.9% | 16.9% |
| Distinguished | 3.8% | 3.5% | 3.6% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 61.8% | 59.7% | 53.3% |
| Developing | 22.9% | 25% | 28.7% |
| Proficient | 13.2% | 13.7% | 12.3% |
| Distinguished | 2.1% | 1.6% | 5.7% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
220 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 977 | 947 | 906 |
| Students with incidents | 195 | 237 | 220 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 475 | 639 | 534 |
| Suspended in school | 16% | 18.6% | 14.3% |
| Suspended out of school | 10.6% | 11.2% | 5.6% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 754 | 749 |
| Suspended out of school | 11.1% · 84 | 15.5% · 116 |
| Suspended in school | 15.5% · 117 | 25.6% · 192 |
| Expelled | 0.7% · 5 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Distant
Enrollment
866 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
12:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino26.2%
White28.4%
Black or African American38.9%
Asian0.2%
Two or More Races5.5%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.7%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130207002257
- District
- Evans County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 866 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 73.8
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24