Brightwood Es
Washington, DC
PublicElementary · Grades Pre-K–5
Test scores
DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education
English language arts
20.7% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 214 | 245 | 242 |
| Share | 18.2% | 11.8% | 20.7% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 214 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 37.9% | 38.0% | 30.7% |
| Level 2 | 20.6% | 26.0% | 24.5% |
| Level 3 | 23.4% | 24.4% | 24.1% |
| Level 4 | Not reported | Not reported | 18.7% |
| Level 5 | <1% | <1% | 2.1% |
MSAA
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | Not reported | Fewer than 10 | Fewer than 10 |
| Levels 1–4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Math
25.4% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 217 | 247 | 244 |
| Share | 19.8% | 22.3% | 25.4% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 217 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 20.7% | 22.5% | 15.2% |
| Level 2 | 25.8% | 25.4% | 24.7% |
| Level 3 | 33.6% | 30.7% | 34.6% |
| Level 4 | 18.4% | 19.7% | 23.0% |
| Level 5 | 1.4% | 1.6% | 2.5% |
MSAA
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | Not reported | Fewer than 10 | Fewer than 10 |
| Levels 1–4 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
DC CAPE Levels 4–5 and MSAA Levels 3–4 meet or exceed expectations.
Discipline
State and federal reports
DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education
6.3% out-of-school suspension rate in 2024–25.
Out-of-school suspension rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 645 | 661 | 700 |
| Rate | 4.3% | 5.9% | 6.3% |
In-school suspensions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 645 | 661 | 700 |
| Rate | <1% | <1% | <1% |
Expulsions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 645 | 661 | 700 |
| Rate | <1% | <1% | <1% |
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 597 | 604 |
| Suspended out of school | 3.2% · 19 | 6.3% · 38 |
| Suspended in school | 1.0% · 6 | 0.0% · 0 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
City, Large
Enrollment
603 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
9:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino72.6%
White2.3%
Black or African American24.9%
Asian0.0%
Two or More Races0.2%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 110003000112
- District
- District Of Columbia Public Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 603 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 67.1
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24
- DC School Report Card Assessments · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- DC School Report Card Discipline · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25