Skip to content

Gouge Elementary

Bakersville, NC

School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

D grade for 2024–25, score 50.

Measure2022–232023–242024–25
GradeCDD
School performance score625350
School achievement score57.449.4Not reported
Reading and math57.4%49.4%Not reported
Math, grades 3–860.6%50%Not reported
Reading, grades 3–854.3%48.8%Not reported
School growth score79.665.7Not reported
Growth statusMetNotMetNot reported
Math performance gradeCCNot reported
Math performance score6455Not reported
Math growth score79.874.5Not reported
Math growth statusMetMetNot reported
Reading performance gradeCDNot reported
Reading performance score5952Not reported
Reading growth score79.765.7Not reported
Reading growth statusMetNotMetNot reported

The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.

The grade and scores come from another school for 2024–25.

Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

0.000 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2024–25.

Rate denominator: Student population estimate.

Discipline
State and federal reports

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

35.46 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2024–25.

Measure2022–232023–242024–25
Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students0.000.0035.46

Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.

Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.

U.S. Department of Education

Measure2021–222023–24
Enrolled in the fall233221
Suspended out of school1.3% · 30.0% · 0
Suspended in school0.0% · 00.0% · 0
Expelled0.0% · 00.0% · 0
School Profile

Location

Rural, Distant

Enrollment

221 students

Student-Teacher Ratio

12:1

Demographics
Hispanic/Latino2.7%
x
White92.8%
x
Black or African American1.4%
x
Asian0.0%
x
Two or More Races3.2%
x
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
x
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
x
School information
North Carolina School Report Cards · 2024–25
Calendar
Traditional
Title I
Y
Public school directory

NCES ID 370300001295

District
Mitchell County Schools
Status
Open
School category
Regular School
Charter
No
Virtual instruction
No virtual instruction
Enrollment
221 students
Teachers (FTE)
18.5

Sources