Washington Middle School
Cairo, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
70.3 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 69 | 70.3 | 70.3 |
| Content mastery | 44.8 | 51.1 | 51 |
| Progress | 75.4 | 85.6 | 85 |
| Closing gaps | 88.3 | 61.4 | 60.7 |
| Readiness | 79.5 | 79.1 | 80.7 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 45.4% | 50.4% | 45.6% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 37.4% | 34.7% | 40.1% |
| Developing | 36.3% | 35.8% | 31.5% |
| Proficient | 22.8% | 25.3% | 23.8% |
| Distinguished | 3.5% | 4.3% | 4.5% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 33.8% | 26.2% | 19.5% |
| Developing | 44.9% | 37.7% | 42.6% |
| Proficient | 18.2% | 25.4% | 26.5% |
| Distinguished | 3% | 10.7% | 11.4% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 51.7% | 50% | 49.8% |
| Developing | 33% | 34.3% | 32.7% |
| Proficient | 14.4% | 13.9% | 16.6% |
| Distinguished | 0.9% | 1.9% | 1% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
173 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 722 | 732 | 660 |
| Students with incidents | 244 | 222 | 173 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 668 | 532 | 379 |
| Suspended in school | 29.5% | 28.1% | 23.5% |
| Suspended out of school | 15.2% | 14.2% | 10.6% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 703 | 682 |
| Suspended out of school | 17.1% · 120 | 16.1% · 110 |
| Suspended in school | 27.3% · 192 | 32.1% · 219 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Town, Distant
Enrollment
682 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
14:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino40.9%
White18.8%
Black or African American37.5%
Asian0.4%
Two or More Races2.2%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130246001084
- District
- Grady County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 682 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 48.5
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24