Charlotte Secondary
Charlotte, NC
CharterHigh · Grades 6–12
School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
D grade for 2024–25, score 41.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade | C | F | D |
| School performance score | 55 | 34 | 41 |
| School achievement score | 48.5 | 24.4 | 32.8 |
| Reading and math | 36.5% | 24.4% | 23.8% |
| ACT and WorkKeys | 14.7% | Not reported | Not reported |
| Standard cohort graduation rate | 92.1% | Not reported | 74.3% |
| Math course rigor | 82.9% | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biology | Not reported | 24.2% | Not reported |
| Math, grades 3–8 | 42.2% | 18.5% | 19.6% |
| Reading, grades 3–8 | 33.3% | 24.1% | 25.5% |
| School growth score | 81.8 | 74.6 | 74.5 |
| Growth status | Met | Met | Met |
| Math performance grade | D | F | F |
| Math performance score | 50 | 30 | 29 |
| Math growth score | 83 | 74.3 | 66.2 |
| Math growth status | Met | Met | NotMet |
| Reading performance grade | D | F | F |
| Reading performance score | 44 | 34 | 37 |
| Reading growth score | 85.2 | 76 | 81.7 |
| Reading growth status | Exceeded | Met | Met |
The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.
Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
6.211 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students | 17.857 | 12.048 | 6.211 |
Rate denominators: 2022–23, 2023–24: Final average daily membership; 2024–25: Student population estimate.
Discipline
State and federal reports
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
198.76 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students | 119.05 | 265.06 | 198.76 |
Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.
Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 182 | 172 |
| Suspended out of school | 9.9% · 18 | 15.1% · 26 |
| Suspended in school | 0.0% · 0 | 12.2% · 21 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
City, Large
Enrollment
174 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
20:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino33.3%
White14.4%
Black or African American40.2%
Asian0.0%
Two or More Races12.1%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
School information
North Carolina School Report Cards · 2024–25
- Calendar
- Traditional
- Title I
- Y
Public school directory
NCES ID 370014302924
- District
- Charlotte Secondary School
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- Yes
- Virtual instruction
- Supplemental virtual
- Enrollment
- 174 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 8.7
Sources
- North Carolina School Performance Grades · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Report Cards Profile · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Discipline Reports · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24