Martin Luther King- Jr. Elementary School
Albany, GA
PublicElementary · Grades Pre-K–5
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
69.3 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 67.7 | 51.5 | 69.3 |
| Content mastery | 31.8 | 31.9 | 38.1 |
| Progress | 86.6 | 71.7 | 82.5 |
| Closing gaps | 95.5 | 21.4 | 100 |
| Readiness | 67.9 | 68.1 | 69.9 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 3 | 21.3% | 32.6% | 15% |
| Grade 5 | 20.9% | 9.6% | 33.3% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 60.1% | 60.3% | 54.8% |
| Developing | 30.1% | 27.4% | 28.9% |
| Proficient | 6.8% | 10.3% | 12.7% |
| Distinguished | 3.1% | 2.1% | 3.6% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 43.9% | 43.5% | 35% |
| Developing | 41.5% | 39.5% | 46.2% |
| Proficient | 14% | 13.6% | 15.2% |
| Distinguished | 0.6% | 3.4% | 3.6% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 50% | 60.8% | 54.2% |
| Developing | 28.8% | 25.5% | 20.3% |
| Proficient | 19.7% | 13.7% | 20.3% |
| Distinguished | 1.5% | 0% | 5.1% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
44 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 450 | 506 | 615 |
| Students with incidents | 51 | 55 | 44 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 87 | 80 | 78 |
| Suspended in school | 0% | 0% | 0.8% |
| Suspended out of school | 11.3% | 10.9% | 6.5% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 363 | 396 |
| Suspended out of school | 16.5% · 60 | 13.4% · 53 |
| Suspended in school | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Fringe
Enrollment
450 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
18:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino0.7%
White0.7%
Black or African American95.1%
Asian0.2%
Two or More Races3.3%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130183002316
- District
- Dougherty County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 450 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 24.4
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24