Stephenson Middle School
Stone Mountain, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
63.9 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 78.3 | 68.6 | 63.9 |
| Content mastery | 47.6 | 47.6 | 45.8 |
| Progress | 93.4 | 80.5 | 76.1 |
| Closing gaps | 100 | 64.7 | 52.1 |
| Readiness | 81.7 | 81.8 | 78.5 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 54.4% | 58.8% | 46.2% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 26.9% | 29% | 39.4% |
| Developing | 41.2% | 37.4% | 33.7% |
| Proficient | 27.5% | 28.3% | 22.6% |
| Distinguished | 4.5% | 5.3% | 4.3% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 30% | 39.8% | 31.7% |
| Developing | 51.7% | 38.5% | 45% |
| Proficient | 14.5% | 16.3% | 19.2% |
| Distinguished | 3.8% | 5.5% | 4% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 51.1% | 53.4% | 51.4% |
| Developing | 33.1% | 26.5% | 22.4% |
| Proficient | 13.2% | 18.9% | 23.1% |
| Distinguished | 2.6% | 1.2% | 3.1% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
243 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 913 | 936 | 877 |
| Students with incidents | 254 | 255 | 243 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 522 | 555 | 561 |
| Suspended in school | 3.9% | 2.7% | 11.5% |
| Suspended out of school | 25.5% | 25.5% | 21.6% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 899 | 839 |
| Suspended out of school | 18.0% · 162 | 28.1% · 236 |
| Suspended in school | 5.5% · 49 | 2.9% · 24 |
| Expelled | 0.2% · 2 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
840 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
15:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino10.5%
White0.6%
Black or African American84.6%
Asian1.2%
Two or More Races2.7%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.2%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130174001547
- District
- Dekalb County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 840 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 56
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24