Mcdowell Virtual Academy
Marion, NC
PublicHigh · Grades 6–12
School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
C grade for 2023–24, score 55.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Grade | D | C |
| School performance score | 41 | 55 |
| School achievement score | 35.9 | 50.8 |
| Reading and math | 32.7% | 28.8% |
| ACT and WorkKeys | Not reported | 21.2% |
| Standard cohort graduation rate | 57.1% | 70% |
| Math course rigor | Not reported | Above 95% |
| Biology | 23.5% | Not reported |
| Math, grades 3–8 | 20% | Not reported |
| Reading, grades 3–8 | 50% | Not reported |
| School growth score | 62.4 | 69.5 |
| Growth status | NotMet | NotMet |
| Math performance grade | F | Not reported |
| Math performance score | 30 | Not reported |
| Math growth score | 67.9 | Not reported |
| Math growth status | NotMet | Not reported |
| Reading performance grade | D | Not reported |
| Reading performance score | 50 | Not reported |
The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.
Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
0.000 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2023–24.
Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.
Discipline
State and federal reports
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
0.00 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2023–24.
Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.
Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 181 | 94 |
| Suspended out of school | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
| Suspended in school | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Fringe
Enrollment
99 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
50:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino1.0%
White89.9%
Black or African American4.0%
Asian1.0%
Two or More Races3.0%
American Indian or Alaska Native1.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 370294003609
- District
- Mcdowell County Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- Exclusively virtual
- Enrollment
- 99 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 2
Sources
- North Carolina School Performance Grades · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Discipline Reports · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2022–23, 2023–24
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24