Albany Middle School
Albany, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
64.6 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 68.7 | 64.7 | 64.6 |
| Content mastery | 37.9 | 39.8 | 41.8 |
| Progress | 90.2 | 85.4 | 80 |
| Closing gaps | 79.6 | 56.7 | 65.9 |
| Readiness | 68.8 | 72.2 | 70.9 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 30.4% | 37.6% | 31.4% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 45.8% | 44.1% | 48.1% |
| Developing | 38.2% | 35.5% | 34.7% |
| Proficient | 14.1% | 18.3% | 15.6% |
| Distinguished | 1.9% | 2.1% | 1.7% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 33.9% | 38% | 30.4% |
| Developing | 52.9% | 45.3% | 48.3% |
| Proficient | 12.4% | 14.9% | 18.7% |
| Distinguished | 0.8% | 1.9% | 2.7% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 45% | 41.6% | 42.9% |
| Developing | 31.4% | 28% | 25.8% |
| Proficient | 20.2% | 25.3% | 23.8% |
| Distinguished | 3.5% | 5.1% | 7.5% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
309 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 928 | 941 | 861 |
| Students with incidents | 437 | 407 | 309 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 1210 | 1053 | 817 |
| Suspended in school | 22.7% | 9.4% | 5.7% |
| Suspended out of school | 37.4% | 33.5% | 27.4% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 1 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 872 | 803 |
| Suspended out of school | 37.6% · 328 | 40.3% · 324 |
| Suspended in school | 21.6% · 188 | 11.5% · 92 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
City, Small
Enrollment
819 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
15:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino3.4%
White3.2%
Black or African American91.5%
Asian0.0%
Two or More Races1.8%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130183000833
- District
- Dougherty County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 819 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 56
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24