Sherwood Elementary
Gastonia, NC
PublicElementary · Grades Pre-K–5
School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
F grade for 2024–25, score 39.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade | D | F | F |
| School performance score | 41 | 39 | 39 |
| School achievement score | 34.6 | 33.7 | 33 |
| Reading and math | 31.3% | 32.3% | 33.5% |
| English learner progress | 45.7% | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science, grades 5 and 8 | 49.4% | 42.1% | 30.1% |
| Math, grades 3–8 | 30% | 30.9% | 32.6% |
| Reading, grades 3–8 | 32.6% | 33.6% | 34.3% |
| School growth score | 68.8 | 62.6 | 65 |
| Growth status | NotMet | NotMet | NotMet |
| Math performance grade | F | F | F |
| Math performance score | 37 | 39 | 39 |
| Math growth score | 67 | 69.2 | 64.8 |
| Math growth status | NotMet | NotMet | NotMet |
| Reading performance grade | D | D | D |
| Reading performance score | 41 | 40 | 42 |
| Reading growth score | 75.2 | 67.9 | 74.4 |
| Reading growth status | Met | NotMet | Met |
The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.
Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
0.000 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
Rate denominator: Student population estimate.
Discipline
State and federal reports
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
135.28 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students | 127.24 | 139.87 | 135.28 |
Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.
Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 511 | 474 |
| Suspended out of school | 9.2% · 47 | 6.5% · 31 |
| Suspended in school | 0.2% · 1 | 0.0% · 0 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
City, Small
Enrollment
491 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
14:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino28.9%
White20.0%
Black or African American39.1%
Asian1.6%
Two or More Races10.0%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.4%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
School information
North Carolina School Report Cards · 2024–25
- Calendar
- Traditional
- Title I
- Y
Public school directory
NCES ID 370162000709
- District
- Gaston County Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 491 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 34.6
Sources
- North Carolina School Performance Grades · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Report Cards Profile · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Discipline Reports · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24