Highland Elementary
Burlington, NC
PublicElementary · Grades K–5
School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
C grade for 2024–25, score 58.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade | C | C | C |
| School performance score | 55 | 59 | 58 |
| School achievement score | 54 | 57.7 | 54.7 |
| Reading and math | 52.8% | 56.5% | 53.4% |
| English learner progress | Not reported | Not reported | 51.6% |
| Science, grades 5 and 8 | 62.1% | 64.1% | 63.1% |
| Math, grades 3–8 | 54.3% | 58.2% | 56.4% |
| Reading, grades 3–8 | 51.2% | 54.7% | 50.5% |
| School growth score | 58.1 | 65.2 | 70.8 |
| Growth status | NotMet | NotMet | Met |
| Math performance grade | C | C | C |
| Math performance score | 55 | 59 | 60 |
| Math growth score | 58 | 63.7 | 73.1 |
| Math growth status | NotMet | NotMet | Met |
| Reading performance grade | C | C | C |
| Reading performance score | 55 | 59 | 55 |
| Reading growth score | 67.8 | 74.7 | 73.1 |
| Reading growth status | NotMet | Met | Met |
The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.
Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
0.000 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students | 0.000 | 1.563 | 0.000 |
Rate denominators: 2022–23, 2023–24: Final average daily membership; 2024–25: Student population estimate.
Discipline
State and federal reports
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
48.19 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students | 22.83 | 39.06 | 48.19 |
Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.
Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 609 | 627 |
| Suspended out of school | 1.8% · 11 | 3.3% · 21 |
| Suspended in school | 1.0% · 6 | 0.2% · 1 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Rural, Fringe
Enrollment
630 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
15:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino17.1%
White37.5%
Black or African American30.0%
Asian6.2%
Two or More Races9.2%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
School information
North Carolina School Report Cards · 2024–25
- Calendar
- Traditional
Public school directory
NCES ID 370003002838
- District
- Alamance-Burlington Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 630 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 41.6
Sources
- North Carolina School Performance Grades · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Report Cards Profile · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Discipline Reports · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24