Pointe South Middle School
Jonesboro, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
63.5 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 68.7 | 66.1 | 63.5 |
| Content mastery | 36.1 | 38.5 | 38 |
| Progress | 86.2 | 83.1 | 81.5 |
| Closing gaps | 84.6 | 66.7 | 58.3 |
| Readiness | 75.1 | 77.1 | 74.3 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 40.1% | 40.1% | 37.6% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 40.7% | 39.6% | 44.4% |
| Developing | 37% | 37.4% | 37% |
| Proficient | 20% | 21% | 16.5% |
| Distinguished | 2.3% | 2% | 2.1% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 52.6% | 43.4% | 43.8% |
| Developing | 34.9% | 41.2% | 38.7% |
| Proficient | 10.3% | 12.7% | 14.5% |
| Distinguished | 2.2% | 2.7% | 3.1% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 61% | 57.8% | 55.6% |
| Developing | 26.4% | 26.7% | 29% |
| Proficient | 12.1% | 14.7% | 12.6% |
| Distinguished | 0.4% | 0.9% | 2.8% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
182 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 871 | 838 | 827 |
| Students with incidents | 209 | 159 | 182 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 381 | 234 | 263 |
| Suspended in school | 17.1% | 9.1% | 13.1% |
| Suspended out of school | 14.8% | 13.5% | 12% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0.1% |
| School climate | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 811 | 677 |
| Suspended out of school | 6.0% · 49 | 14.5% · 98 |
| Suspended in school | 8.3% · 67 | 10.2% · 69 |
| Expelled | 0.7% · 6 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
718 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
14:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino19.9%
White1.0%
Black or African American75.6%
Asian1.3%
Two or More Races1.9%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.1%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.1%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130123000478
- District
- Clayton County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 718 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 52
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24