Dekalb Preparatory Academy Charter
Decatur, GA
CharterElementary · Grades K–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
58.4 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 55.5 | 62.3 | 58.4 |
| CCRPI score, elementary | 47.8 | 59.1 | 62.9 |
| CCRPI score, middle | 69.8 | 68.2 | 50.4 |
| Content mastery, elementary | 37.8 | 36 | 39.1 |
| Content mastery, middle | 42 | 42.7 | 35.1 |
| Progress, elementary | 59.5 | 70.4 | 76.3 |
| Progress, middle | 89.5 | 75.7 | 63.3 |
| Closing gaps, elementary | 0 | 58.3 | 63.6 |
| Closing gaps, middle | 57.1 | 85 | 21.4 |
| Readiness, elementary | 78.7 | 75.2 | 74.8 |
| Readiness, middle | 86.6 | 80.6 | 72.7 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 3 | 34.5% | 18.9% | 20.4% |
| Grade 5 | 40.7% | 44.4% | 54% |
| Grade 8 | 50% | 56.1% | 50% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning, elementary | 44.8% | 45.2% | 49.7% |
| Developing, elementary | 32.2% | 33.1% | 29.7% |
| Proficient, elementary | 20.7% | 18.1% | 18.7% |
| Distinguished, elementary | 2.3% | 3.6% | 1.9% |
| Beginning, middle | 27.7% | 34.8% | 44.1% |
| Developing, middle | 43.5% | 30.9% | 34.1% |
| Proficient, middle | 25.5% | 31.5% | 17.9% |
| Distinguished, middle | 3.3% | 2.8% | 3.9% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning, elementary | 50.6% | 58.4% | 51% |
| Developing, elementary | 38.5% | 32.5% | 36.1% |
| Proficient, elementary | 9.2% | 8.4% | 11% |
| Distinguished, elementary | 1.7% | 0.6% | 1.9% |
| Beginning, middle | 31.7% | 44.7% | 39.7% |
| Developing, middle | 51.4% | 42.5% | 49.7% |
| Proficient, middle | 14.2% | 10.1% | 8.9% |
| Distinguished, middle | 2.7% | 2.8% | 1.7% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning, elementary | 38.3% | 35.9% | 18% |
| Developing, elementary | 28.3% | 30.2% | 36% |
| Proficient, elementary | 26.7% | 22.6% | 38% |
| Distinguished, elementary | 6.7% | 11.3% | 8% |
| Beginning, middle | 67.3% | 41.4% | 56.9% |
| Developing, middle | 20% | 34.5% | 34.5% |
| Proficient, middle | 5.5% | 19% | 8.6% |
| Distinguished, middle | 7.3% | 5.2% | 0% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
25 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 604 | 590 | 575 |
| Students with incidents | 3 | 15 | 25 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 3 | 22 | 37 |
| Suspended in school | 0% | 0% | 1.4% |
| Suspended out of school | 0.3% | 2.5% | 3.8% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 553 | 561 |
| Suspended out of school | 5.2% · 29 | 2.7% · 15 |
| Suspended in school | 0.2% · 1 | 0.0% · 0 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
562 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
17:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino3.7%
White0.0%
Black or African American94.5%
Asian0.4%
Two or More Races1.4%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130174004071
- District
- Dekalb County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- Yes
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 562 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 34
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24