Skip to content

Hiwassee Dam Elementary/Middle

Murphy, NC

School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

C grade for 2024–25, score 69.

Measure2022–232023–242024–25
GradeCCC
School performance score676869
School achievement score63.564.363.9
Reading and math63.5%64.3%59.8%
Science, grades 5 and 8Not reportedNot reported87.5%
Math, grades 3–867.9%66.2%65.8%
Reading, grades 3–859%62.3%53.8%
School growth score81.781.687.1
Growth statusMetMetExceeded
Math performance gradeBCB
Math performance score716970
Math growth score8380.987.7
Math growth statusMetMetExceeded
Reading performance gradeCCC
Reading performance score636659
Reading growth score77.780.377.4
Reading growth statusMetMetMet

The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.

Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

20.690 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2024–25.

Measure2022–232023–242024–25
Reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students0.0000.00020.690

Rate denominators: 2022–23, 2023–24: Final average daily membership; 2024–25: Student population estimate.

Discipline
State and federal reports

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

158.62 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2024–25.

Measure2022–232023–242024–25
Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students86.2184.75158.62

Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.

Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.

U.S. Department of Education

Measure2021–222023–24
Enrolled in the fall113122
Suspended out of school1.8% · 29.0% · 11
Suspended in school1.8% · 23.3% · 4
Expelled0.0% · 00.0% · 0
School Profile

Location

Rural, Remote

Enrollment

121 students

Student-Teacher Ratio

11:1

Demographics
Hispanic/Latino3.3%
x
White86.8%
x
Black or African American0.0%
x
Asian0.0%
x
Two or More Races9.1%
x
American Indian or Alaska Native0.8%
x
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
x
School information
North Carolina School Report Cards · 2024–25
Calendar
Traditional
Public school directory

NCES ID 370078000319

District
Cherokee County Schools
Status
Open
School category
Regular School
Charter
No
Virtual instruction
No virtual instruction
Enrollment
121 students
Teachers (FTE)
11

Sources