J. Knox Elementary
Canton, GA
PublicElementary · Grades Pre-K–5
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
88.8 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 75.2 | 89.5 | 88.8 |
| Content mastery | 72.5 | 76.2 | 80.3 |
| Progress | 88.3 | 98.2 | 100 |
| Closing gaps | 35 | 100 | 81.8 |
| Readiness | 85.8 | 86.2 | 87 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 3 | 48.6% | 39.2% | 36% |
| Grade 5 | 54.8% | 62.4% | 66.2% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 24.1% | 23.6% | 23% |
| Developing | 30.9% | 26.8% | 30.8% |
| Proficient | 33.6% | 32.8% | 31% |
| Distinguished | 11.4% | 16.9% | 15.3% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 15.9% | 14.5% | 11% |
| Developing | 29.6% | 28.4% | 24.6% |
| Proficient | 34.8% | 35.9% | 38.6% |
| Distinguished | 19.8% | 21.2% | 25.8% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 23% | 23.1% | 16.3% |
| Developing | 27% | 23.1% | 20.6% |
| Proficient | 34.9% | 38.8% | 40.4% |
| Distinguished | 15.1% | 15% | 22.7% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
73 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 948 | 954 | 975 |
| Students with incidents | 66 | 26 | 73 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 179 | 37 | 227 |
| Suspended in school | 5.8% | 2.4% | 5.6% |
| Suspended out of school | 1.4% | 0.5% | 1% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 4 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 886 | 861 |
| Suspended out of school | 2.0% · 18 | 1.4% · 12 |
| Suspended in school | 8.2% · 73 | 5.5% · 47 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
892 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
13:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino33.3%
White56.5%
Black or African American3.4%
Asian0.8%
Two or More Races6.1%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130111003769
- District
- Cherokee County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 892 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 67.7
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24