Piney Grove Middle School
Cumming, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
97.6 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 94.8 | 93.2 | 97.6 |
| Content mastery | 99.1 | 100 | 100 |
| Progress | 92 | 92.8 | 98.1 |
| Closing gaps | 95.3 | 78.3 | 93.8 |
| Readiness | 92.8 | 94.5 | 95.9 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 86.1% | 88.9% | 87.5% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 5.3% | 6.2% | 5.7% |
| Developing | 18.4% | 15.6% | 15.5% |
| Proficient | 48.9% | 44.8% | 41.5% |
| Distinguished | 27.5% | 33.5% | 37.3% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 3.6% | 3.4% | 3% |
| Developing | 18.4% | 12.6% | 13.5% |
| Proficient | 30.2% | 27.9% | 25.7% |
| Distinguished | 47.8% | 56.1% | 57.9% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 8.8% | 9% | 5.8% |
| Developing | 20.7% | 17.3% | 19.3% |
| Proficient | 42% | 38.4% | 40.6% |
| Distinguished | 28.5% | 35.3% | 34.3% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
128 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 1,062 | 1,098 | 1,058 |
| Students with incidents | 82 | 85 | 128 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 140 | 155 | 188 |
| Suspended in school | 6% | 3.7% | 8.4% |
| Suspended out of school | 2.6% | 4.2% | 2.9% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 5 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 927 | 1,061 |
| Suspended out of school | 3.1% · 29 | 3.8% · 40 |
| Suspended in school | 2.2% · 20 | 3.8% · 40 |
| Expelled | 0.3% · 3 | 0.9% · 10 |
School Profile
Location
Suburb, Large
Enrollment
1,054 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
17:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino9.2%
White25.0%
Black or African American4.2%
Asian57.7%
Two or More Races3.1%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.9%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130222003357
- District
- Forsyth County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 1,054 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 62.1
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24