Gainesville Middle School West
Gainesville-, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
56.3 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 60.4 | 62.1 | 56.3 |
| Content mastery | 41.9 | 42.4 | 39.4 |
| Progress | 71.6 | 71.4 | 73.9 |
| Closing gaps | 50 | 59.5 | 20.3 |
| Readiness | 76.1 | 77.3 | 77.6 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 44.8% | 46.4% | 34.2% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 43.3% | 39.8% | 45.7% |
| Developing | 32.5% | 34.7% | 30.8% |
| Proficient | 21.7% | 21.6% | 20.9% |
| Distinguished | 2.5% | 3.9% | 2.7% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 40.5% | 39.2% | 36.4% |
| Developing | 40.1% | 38.1% | 39.9% |
| Proficient | 16% | 16.7% | 19.5% |
| Distinguished | 3.5% | 6.1% | 4.2% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 51% | 64.9% | 67.4% |
| Developing | 30.4% | 18.7% | 22.1% |
| Proficient | 15.6% | 14.1% | 9.5% |
| Distinguished | 3% | 2.3% | 1% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
276 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 964 | 990 | 1,022 |
| Students with incidents | 209 | 243 | 276 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 633 | 638 | 871 |
| Suspended in school | 17.1% | 14% | 21.2% |
| Suspended out of school | 11.5% | 16.5% | 14.1% |
| Expelled | 0% | 0.1% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2023–24 |
|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 894 |
| Suspended out of school | 18.7% · 167 |
| Suspended in school | 14.7% · 131 |
| Expelled | 0.1% · 1 |
School Profile
Location
City, Small
Enrollment
894 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
15:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino67.2%
White6.8%
Black or African American18.9%
Asian3.6%
Two or More Races3.5%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130231003619
- District
- Gainesville City
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 894 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 58.5
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2023–24