Appling Middle School
Macon, GA
PublicMiddle · Grades 6–8
School grades
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
58.6 single score for 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Single score | 53.8 | 49.6 | 58.6 |
| Content mastery | 27.9 | 28.2 | 30.3 |
| Progress | 68.8 | 69.7 | 75.8 |
| Closing gaps | 50 | 17.9 | 60 |
| Readiness | 69 | 70 | 69.9 |
The single score and CCRPI components are points out of 100. NA and N/A mean unavailable.
Reading at grade level
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 8 | 33.3% | 39.5% | 33.2% |
Georgia Milestones
Percent of students enrolled at least two-thirds of the year. Math standards changed in 2023–24.
English language arts
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 46.3% | 48.3% | 49.8% |
| Developing | 37.5% | 34.8% | 35.2% |
| Proficient | 15.4% | 15.3% | 14.1% |
| Distinguished | 0.8% | 1.6% | 1% |
Math
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 58.9% | 54.4% | 45% |
| Developing | 33.3% | 38% | 44.5% |
| Proficient | 7.3% | 6.2% | 9.6% |
| Distinguished | 0.5% | 1.5% | 0.8% |
Science
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Beginning | 75.1% | 77% | 67.2% |
| Developing | 17.8% | 17.1% | 25.3% |
| Proficient | 6.6% | 5.9% | 7.6% |
| Distinguished | 0.5% | 0% | 0% |
Discipline
State and federal reports
Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement
151 students had disciplinary incidents in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrolled during the year | 731 | 806 | 754 |
| Students with incidents | 294 | 217 | 151 |
| Disciplinary incidents | 653 | 424 | 284 |
| Suspended in school | 26.5% | 15.1% | 8.8% |
| Suspended out of school | 30.8% | 22.3% | 17.2% |
| Expelled | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0% |
| School climate | Not reported | 3 | Not reported |
Percentages use enrollment during the year. Students can have multiple incidents and consequences.
School climate: 1–5 stars.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 683 | 676 |
| Suspended out of school | 37.2% · 254 | 35.9% · 243 |
| Suspended in school | 24.9% · 170 | 18.8% · 127 |
| Expelled | 3.1% · 21 | 2.4% · 16 |
School Profile
Location
City, Midsize
Enrollment
676 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
14:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino2.8%
White2.4%
Black or African American92.9%
Asian0.1%
Two or More Races1.8%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
Public school directory
NCES ID 130042000212
- District
- Bibb County
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 676 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 47.2
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Georgia School Grades · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Georgia School Discipline · Georgia Governor’s Office of Student Achievement · 2024–25
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24