Luke C. Moore Hs
Washington, DC
English language arts
<5% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Share | Not reported | <=10% | <5% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 23 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 56.5% | 52.6% | 72.4% |
| Level 2 | 21.7% | Not reported | 17.2% |
| Level 3 | 13.0% | 31.6% | Not reported |
| Level 4 | Not reported | <=10% | <5% |
| Level 5 | <5% | <=10% | <5% |
Math
8.7% for meeting or exceeding expectations in 2025–26.
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | Not reported | Not reported | 23 |
| Share | <5% | <=10% | 8.7% |
DC CAPE
| Measure | 2023–24 | 2024–25 | 2025–26 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Test takers | 21 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level 1 | 57.1% | 60.0% | 43.5% |
| Level 2 | Not reported | 35.0% | 39.1% |
| Level 3 | <5% | <=10% | Not reported |
| Level 4 | <5% | <=10% | 8.7% |
| Level 5 | <5% | <=10% | <5% |
DC CAPE Levels 4–5 meet or exceed expectations.
DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education
9.0% out-of-school suspension rate in 2024–25.
Out-of-school suspension rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 333 | 396 | 368 |
| Rate | 10.8% | 10.6% | 9.0% |
In-school suspensions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 333 | 396 | 368 |
| Rate | <1% | 1.8% | 1.1% |
Expulsions rate
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student count | 333 | 396 | 368 |
| Rate | <1% | <1% | <1% |
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 154 | 263 |
| Suspended out of school | 19.5% · 30 | 16.3% · 43 |
| Suspended in school | 0.6% · 1 | 3.0% · 8 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
Location
City, Large
Enrollment
264 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
13:1
Updated 8mo ago
Luke C. Moore Opportunity Academy emphasizes “addressing the whole child,” aiming to meet students’ academic, social, and emotional needs in a nurturing environment. Their approach is described as comprehensive, innovative, and individualized—pairing an inclusive rigorous curriculum with social-emotional learning and access to new technologies to help students become globally competitive change agents. Instruction is guided by the school’s “5 A’s” model (Anticipation, Annotation, Analyzation, Articulation, Adjustment) and a “second-chance” purpose focused on student growth through real-world experiences.
Updated 8mo ago
Luke C. Moore Opportunity Academy is a DCPS “Opportunity Academy” high school and does not participate in the My School DC lottery; students generally enter through DCPS placement/referral rather than a public application. (dcps.dc.gov) If a student is currently enrolled in another DCPS high school, the student should go through their current school’s referral process; eligibility for a school-initiated transfer includes being age 16+ and being 6+ credits off track for graduation (based on the first 9th grade year), and transfer priority is based on credits earned relative to that first 9th grade year, the intensity of interventions tried at the current school, and the student/family preference. (dcps.dc.gov) Students on a special education “certificate track” are not eligible for transfer to an Opportunity Academy. (dcps.dc.gov) For students not currently enrolled in DCPS, DCPS states that students 18+ may pursue enrollment directly at any point in the year and admission is based on eligibility and available space, while students needing IEP/EL services who are 17 and under and not enrolled in DCPS may pursue enrollment through the Student Placement Office. (dcps.dc.gov) After acceptance, families complete the DCPS enrollment packet (online enrollment is recommended) and submit required supporting documents to the school; DCPS publishes annual enrollment milestones (e.g., SY26–27 lottery results/enrollment season opens March 27, 2026), but Opportunity Academy entry may also occur outside the lottery cycle. (enrolldcps.dc.gov) Standard enrollment documentation typically includes DC residency verification and required health/immunization forms (e.g., Universal Health Certificate and Oral Health Assessment); DCPS does not describe a separate public “waitlist” process for Opportunity Academies beyond admission being limited by available space. (dcps.dc.gov)
Updated 8mo ago
Updated 8mo ago
9:15 AM – 3:45 PM
Updated 8mo ago
LCM offers an after-school extended-day “Evening Program” primarily for students who need to recover or accelerate credits. Students can enroll in after-school courses with flexible scheduling to support grade promotion and graduation eligibility.
NCES ID 110003000198
- District
- District Of Columbia Public Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Alternative School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- No virtual instruction
- Enrollment
- 264 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 20.1
Sources
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24
- DC School Report Card Assessments · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2023–24, 2024–25, 2025–26
- DC School Report Card Discipline · DC Office of the State Superintendent of Education · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25