Buncombe County Schools Virtual Academy
Asheville, NC
PublicOther · Grades K–12
School performance grade
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
C grade for 2024–25, score 60.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade | C | C | C |
| School performance score | 67 | 68 | 60 |
| School achievement score | 65.4 | 66.5 | 59.2 |
| Reading and math | 52.9% | 53.5% | 47.1% |
| ACT and WorkKeys | 52.3% | 44.3% | 50% |
| Standard cohort graduation rate | Above 95% | 94.4% | 93.9% |
| Math course rigor | Above 95% | Above 95% | 93.4% |
| Science, grades 5 and 8 | 67.7% | 73.5% | 60% |
| Biology | Not reported | Not reported | 26.8% |
| Math, grades 3–8 | 46.9% | 48.1% | 42.5% |
| Reading, grades 3–8 | 58% | 63.6% | 56.3% |
| School growth score | 73.6 | 72.1 | 60.9 |
| Growth status | Met | Met | NotMet |
| Math performance grade | D | D | D |
| Math performance score | 51 | 52 | 46 |
| Math growth score | 66.8 | 66.6 | 59.3 |
| Math growth status | NotMet | NotMet | NotMet |
| Reading performance grade | C | C | C |
| Reading performance score | 63 | 67 | 60 |
| Reading growth score | 81.7 | 82.1 | 76 |
| Reading growth status | Met | Met | Met |
The grade combines applicable achievement measures and academic growth.
Safety incidents
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
0.000 reportable criminal acts per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
Rate denominator: Student population estimate.
Discipline
State and federal reports
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
6.27 short-term out-of-school suspensions per 1,000 students in 2024–25.
| Measure | 2022–23 | 2023–24 | 2024–25 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students | 0.00 | 0.00 | 6.27 |
Rate denominator: Final average daily membership.
Short-term suspensions last up to 10 school days. Repeat suspensions count separately.
U.S. Department of Education
| Measure | 2021–22 | 2023–24 |
|---|---|---|
| Enrolled in the fall | 287 | 285 |
| Suspended out of school | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
| Suspended in school | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
| Expelled | 0.0% · 0 | 0.0% · 0 |
School Profile
Location
City, Small
Enrollment
280 students
Student-Teacher Ratio
19:1
Demographics
Hispanic/Latino12.1%
White77.5%
Black or African American6.1%
Asian0.0%
Two or More Races4.3%
American Indian or Alaska Native0.0%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander0.0%
School information
North Carolina School Report Cards · 2024–25
- Calendar
- Traditional
- Title I
- Y
Public school directory
NCES ID 370045003578
- District
- Buncombe County Schools
- Status
- Open
- School category
- Regular School
- Charter
- No
- Virtual instruction
- Exclusively virtual
- Enrollment
- 280 students
- Teachers (FTE)
- 14.4
Sources
- North Carolina School Performance Grades · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Report Cards Profile · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2024–25
- North Carolina School Discipline Reports · North Carolina Department of Public Instruction · 2022–23, 2023–24, 2024–25
- NCES Common Core of Data · National Center for Education Statistics · 2023–24
- Civil Rights Data Collection · U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights · 2021–22, 2023–24